Dimmu Borgir Eonian
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pebster49
May 12th 2018


3023 Comments


This album is their best in a long time, I am actually surprised how much I am digging this album.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2018


32053 Comments


So is this McDonald BM like Hellscythe said of Watain's? (Sorry, loved that analogy, and I actually liked the Watain)

TheClansman95
May 13th 2018


2510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Man, you need to rate it then

heck
May 13th 2018


7137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I found the CD of this at Walmart





so yeah Dewinged this is pretty much McDonald's bm but it doesn't piss me off or bore me as much because they don't take themselves as seriously as Watain and I like the symphonic shit

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2018


32053 Comments


Fair enough, I'll give it a shot.

heck
May 13th 2018


7137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

my biggest complaint is that the overly plastic Jens Bogren production completely sucks any intensity out of the heavier sections and makes the whole thing feel even more tame than it already is

InFlamesWeThrash666
May 13th 2018


10562 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Bogren did a great job with the last Septicflesh album which also uses a lot of choirs and orchestra. I think Nuclear Blast is to blame here

heck
May 13th 2018


7137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think his production style was just better suited for their sound. there's just some stuff he doesn't really work with and I wish bands/labels would start to realize that instead of having him produce/mix everything like he does nowadays.

heck
May 13th 2018


7137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

one of the best examples of it along with newer Satyricon.

Jeejee
May 14th 2018


70 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This was slightly better than Abrahadabra. Still super boring. I just can't get into this overly symphonic black metal stuff, it always becomes a chore to listen to after a couple of songs.

Willie
Moderator
May 14th 2018


20214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

I don't mind the symphonic black metal stuff. Some of it is pretty good. It never gets me as much as the more traditional melodic black metal stuff, though.

XfingTheSullen
May 15th 2018


5270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like the subtle bell-like synths they're using all over this album, reminds me of enthrone kinda

Jeejee
May 16th 2018


70 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The bell-synths were nice. Reminded me of early Burzum, dunkelheit in particular.

XfingTheSullen
May 17th 2018


5270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, harps too. I personally really like both hearing and composing harp parts, they're jsut so badass

TheClansman95
May 17th 2018


2510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The overabudance of choirs disturbs me

madtwoo
May 20th 2018


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

LUL

Willie
Moderator
May 20th 2018


20214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

Yeah. They definitely over did the choirs. The new Amorphis is how to do that stuff right.

XfingTheSullen
May 22nd 2018


5270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope this album breaks a 3.0 at least, it deserves it.



alpha aeon omega is beautiful

Willie
Moderator
May 22nd 2018


20214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

Sputnik ratings seem to rarely have much to do with musical merit.

XfingTheSullen
May 22nd 2018


5270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, with the amount of shitty 3.8s I'm somewhat inclined to agree. RYM is much stricter usually, but also much more lenient where it's due



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy