Pianos Become the Teeth Wait For Love
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dangerousdarrin
October 25th 2019


179 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This has more songs that sound different than Keep You does. There's nothing on Keep You like Bay of Dreams or the positive feeling of Bitter Red.

Observer
Emeritus
October 25th 2019


8390 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wish i could get into this one like the prior

Digging: Inanna - Transfigured in a Thousand Delusions

Hopelust
October 28th 2019


3519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review frustrates me to no end.

Digging: Hum - Inlet

disintegrationloops
February 26th 2020


2 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sound review. I really enjoy the first 2 and ep. Keep You grew on me a bit too.



This is the worst of Keep You on roids. It's not that he sacked the skramz, it's that his clean voice is distinctly mediocre.

butt.
February 26th 2020


7871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i fucking love his clean voice. he doesn't use it super well here, but on Keep You his vocals hit harder for me than almost anything prior

Digging: Necrot - Mortal

Observer
Emeritus
February 26th 2020


8390 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

agreed. Keep you goes right for the gut

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


10304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Keep You is their best album



April is punishing

Digging: sprain - As Lost Through Collision

Observer
Emeritus
February 26th 2020


8390 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

When i drink, my drink

DungeonBoy
February 26th 2020


7938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

man, I jammed this on a long night drive on Sunday, and it always hits the spot

DungeonBoy
February 26th 2020


7938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wait a sec! I thought this was the Keep You thread... dang.. this album is fine

Asura14
February 26th 2020


363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Keep You is their best album [2]



It was the first one I heard by these guys and its just great, this feels kind of boring in comparison

Digging: Fit for a King - The Path

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


11623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I listened to this album so many times it may have single-handedly made Pianos a most-listened artist of mine for that year. Have no desire to return to it.

Digging: Barely Civil - I'll Figure This Out

gravityswitch
February 26th 2020


262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same, MarsKid. But I've listened to Keep You even more and I like to return to it from time to time. Guess it means something.

coldheaven
February 26th 2020


5595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

When you have a dead dad, Keep You hits WAYYYYYYY too hard. Probably even harder than TLLA imo.

Digging: Narrow Head - 12th House Rock

Jamdbz
February 26th 2020


743 Comments


[2]






: (

Digging: The Armed - Only Love

DungeonBoy
February 26th 2020


7938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My dad is still alive but I feel the weight of him dying when I listen to it, it's crushing, and it's not even real so I can't imagine.

butt.
February 26th 2020


7871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so glad to finally see other people agree that Keep You is best.

coldheaven
February 26th 2020


5595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

But this album is about love, acceptance, and finding the silver linings in life when it seems that life itself is just out to get you. I feel most people miss that within this album, especially when it's constantly compared to KY and TLLA. This album is it's own separate entity. While the rest of their albums are bleak, brooding and dark, this is the album that showcases optimism, hope, and the notion that life just isn't bad all the time. Sometimes it can be really beautiful, and that's what I get from this album. 5 all day.

nightbringer
February 26th 2020


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm with you coldheaven. Love the uplifting quality to this album.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


11623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fair point, but you have to remember that it's impossible to view an album in a vacuum in this instance, as it is still under the same band name. Context will always loom. Whether or not it affects one's eventual evaluation is subjective, much like if a movie viewer is bothered by a plot hole or not--which is to say, did context hurt engagement, or were you able to ignore/look past it (see it as a separate entity, as it were)?



For me, TLLA will always hang over this like a shadow. Not to self-promote, but I've gone in-depth about my issues with this. Not sure what else I can say about it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy