Julien Baker Turn Out The Lights
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2017


26199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd say this is massively evolved from the last but of course I'd love to hear her continue that growth on the next

Koris
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2017


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it'd be interesting if she added a few more rock elements and created a shoegaze/dream pop sound with her music at some point

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2017


10210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Check Mazzy Star then, which is basically that. I personally don't mind if julien sticks to a more barebones, intimate sound

Koris
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2017


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll have to check that then

Snake.
December 28th 2017


25268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey necro check the new florist it's better than this album sometimes on a cold day

Koris
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2017


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's cold as hell outside right now, so I might have to do that

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2017


26199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean her band is already a rock band so I'm not sure if she'd wanna go in that direction but I'd be all for it

Koris
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2017


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tbh, I didn't even know she had a band until now

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2017


26199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They aren't big lol

Koris
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2017


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just heard them. They basically just sound like Julien Baker with drums, lol

rockandmetaljunkie
February 10th 2018


9621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

amazing sophomore effort, i will try to buy her albums if i get the chance

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 10th 2018


70242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you have the chance right now this is the internet

Conmaniac
February 10th 2018


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

please julien, gimme a chance

Koris
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh shit, I have the flagged review for both albums now. lol

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


4052 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Much-deserved, man. I might have to bump this down to a 4; I love it so, but there's still something missing. I feel like Sprained Ankle can't be recreated, because of its context, so Julien would have to take her sound a couple more steps forward to create something as effective. For me, that is.

Koris
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah man, I still think yours is better. Yeah, this definitely isn't as good as Sprained Ankle, but to be fair, it's gonna be really fucking difficult to top that one

Conmaniac
February 10th 2018


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

doesn't matter who's is better, yours is much more succinct than our mammoth of a review...this'll give others a better chance to quickly figure out if they wanna listen or not

Koris
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol, that's true. I guess I'm just a sucker for conversational reviews though... such a cool concept when put in writing

jmh886
February 12th 2018


2934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

some of the lyrics on here just feel awkward for some reason. melodies are gorgeous though.

Conmaniac
February 12th 2018


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed hard tbh...not quite the same charm at times



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy