Julien Baker Turn Out The Lights
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
October 29th 2017


24457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

She's pretty big over the whole internet music community. Strong ratings on RYM as well, and I've seen a lot of hype over her on music related Facebook groups/pages I'm a part of. Definitely not a Sput only sensation.



Spun this twice so far... So far I'm not feeling drastically different about this than Sprained Ankle, though my inclination is to say that this is slightly better.

Conmaniac
October 29th 2017


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought you'd like this more than Sprained Ankle, Boney.

theBoneyKing
October 29th 2017


24457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think her style of songwriting just doesn't really resonate with me right now, at another time I might have really fallen in love with her.

Conmaniac
October 29th 2017


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's fair. for me it's really the religious themes that hit so close to home, plus the music is gorgeous and delicate af

luci
October 29th 2017


12844 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

some nice moments but I don't find any song engaging front-to-back (with the exception of appointments - I guess that's my favorite). it's a dreary and claustrophobic listen, the homogeneity doesn't help either. i can listen to sprained ankle on repeat but this gets overbearing fast

Conmaniac
October 29th 2017


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah I agree, esp the middle stretch of songs.

butcherboy
October 29th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

listening to this now.. why are the young so fucking sexless nowadays?

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2017


26238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2017


26238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You don't think this as much Con? Seriously considering 5'ing this

Conmaniac
October 29th 2017


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it's a step down from Sprained Ankle, only half the songs have really resonated with me, but the rest are still pretty and pleasant to listen to

wwf
October 29th 2017


7198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Id give her the sex

butcherboy
October 29th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

wwf, i don't think this humble-mumble songstress knows what sex is.. just jd salinger heartbreak..

luci
October 29th 2017


12844 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Some levity would be appreciated as well, she's too humorless and self-serious throughout this.

Conmaniac
October 29th 2017


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont think many of her same-sex relationships revolve around fucking...

butcherboy
October 29th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

most commonly occurring sentence in those types of relationships



"take your Blundstones and go!!"

Conmaniac
October 29th 2017


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh man idk what to say to that

butcherboy
October 29th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

hahahha, Con, to be fair, the same-sex aspect had no bearing on the general dour asexuality of the music, don't know why you threw that in there..

Conmaniac
October 29th 2017


27693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

threw it in there in case ya didnt know. I think it definitely plays a role, however, as I'd assume there are some key differences that might help explain the asexuality (altho it's obviously not the main reason).

luci
October 29th 2017


12844 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm with butcher on that. It's like the anti-thesis of a Fiona Apple record which simmers with sensuality despite the depressive themes.

Gyromania
October 29th 2017


37147 Comments


Gotta say this is a really boring album, but not bad by any means. I'm with lucid; no particular song grabs me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy