Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
unclereich
August 18th 2019


4151 Comments


Yea man it was so weird, it felt like i won the lottery when i got the cd

Digging: Nirvana - MTV Unplugged in New York (DVD)

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 18th 2019


32091 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Some odd developments: apparently Lacey went cliff diving and suffered a fracture in his back somewhere, spent days in the ER wondering if he'd be paralyzed, but is ok.

There was also some reddit post about him working in the studio to produce an EP for some band I never heard of.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

Larkinhill
August 18th 2019


4153 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh wow man, that’s crazy. Glad to hear he’s ok though.

botulist
August 18th 2019


86 Comments


I wonder what was at the bottom of that cliff

Point1
August 18th 2019


680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

as subtle as a cliff in the small of my back

SherlockChris9021
August 25th 2019


198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yikes, cliff driving? I hope he's okay, both physically and mentally, after all these things.

Digging: Rolo Tomassi - Time Will Die And Love Will Bury It

Brabiz
August 31st 2019


987 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I’m still really happy Brand New ended their career with this. I think this is my favorite album of theirs. It makes me feel stuff

Deathconscious
August 31st 2019


22226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn, never took Jesse as one to do some crazy shit like that.

Digging: Pyramidal - Pyramidal

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2019


16761 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I wonder what was at the bottom of that cliff"

Maybe he was looking for gold

Maybe he was looking for a hand to hold

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


31633 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

waste is such a fuckin good song lol

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


3974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

right? Was surprised how lowly some people rate that one.



The You Are Not Alone bridge section is stunning

Larkinhill
September 12th 2019


4153 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Waste is amazing, agreed. One of my favorite here.

butt.
September 12th 2019


4770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's pretty and all, but it's also just super generic. basic 4 chord progression, over-processed snare that almost sounds fake, idk. BN is really good at songwriting, but Waste isn't a great example of that

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


3551 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Doesn't that apply to most of their stuff

butt.
September 12th 2019


4770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

idk, go check their avgs and let me know

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


3551 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

We both know that logic is bull

Kurai
September 12th 2019


353 Comments


I do wonder if all the Brand New fanboys who preach about 'separating the art from the artist' would react in the same way if Ronnie Radke did what Jesse Lacey did...

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


3551 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nah, they wouldn't

butt.
September 12th 2019


4770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"We both know that logic is bull"



lol no it's not. who is to decide if music is good or well written? a chihuahua? a computer? people collectively make that decision. there is no other authority. so when most of a band's discography scores around a 4/5 or higher, from thousands of votes, it's fair to say that most people believe it to be good music. Three or four of their albums have received near unanimous critical acclaim as well, which only backs up the user ratings.

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


3551 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Who is to decide that it's sput averages that are more correct than, say, Rateyourmusic, which, by the way, has a larger userbase then?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy