Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deathconscious
August 31st 2019


24907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn, never took Jesse as one to do some crazy shit like that.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2019


19623 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I wonder what was at the bottom of that cliff"

Maybe he was looking for gold

Maybe he was looking for a hand to hold

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


31799 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

waste is such a fuckin good song lol

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


4608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

right? Was surprised how lowly some people rate that one.



The You Are Not Alone bridge section is stunning

Larkinhill
September 12th 2019


6814 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Waste is amazing, agreed. One of my favorite here.

butt.
September 12th 2019


7565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's pretty and all, but it's also just super generic. basic 4 chord progression, over-processed snare that almost sounds fake, idk. BN is really good at songwriting, but Waste isn't a great example of that

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


11376 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Doesn't that apply to most of their stuff

butt.
September 12th 2019


7565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

idk, go check their avgs and let me know

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


11376 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

We both know that logic is bull

Kurai
September 12th 2019


410 Comments


I do wonder if all the Brand New fanboys who preach about 'separating the art from the artist' would react in the same way if Ronnie Radke did what Jesse Lacey did...

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


11376 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nah, they wouldn't

butt.
September 12th 2019


7565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"We both know that logic is bull"



lol no it's not. who is to decide if music is good or well written? a chihuahua? a computer? people collectively make that decision. there is no other authority. so when most of a band's discography scores around a 4/5 or higher, from thousands of votes, it's fair to say that most people believe it to be good music. Three or four of their albums have received near unanimous critical acclaim as well, which only backs up the user ratings.

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


11376 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Who is to decide that it's sput averages that are more correct than, say, Rateyourmusic, which, by the way, has a larger userbase then?

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


11376 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I mean, in that case, this would be outside the top 4,500 albums of all time on that website. And devil and god is sitting at 3.79, getting obliterated by Modest Mouse

DeadBitchAlexis
September 12th 2019


3315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I do wonder if all the Brand New fanboys who preach about 'separating the art from the artist' would react in the same way if Ronnie Radke did what Jesse Lacey did..."



If they genuinely liked Ronnies music then yeah but almost everyone who I know thats a fan of Brand New also hates Falling In Reverse abd Escape the Fate.

tectactoe
September 12th 2019


2873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i would argue that RYM averages are more representative as a subset of "everyone" given that [1] they have significantly more users, and [2] sput tends to be very metal-biased (which may not directly affect e.g. Brand New's ratings, but the point is that the Sput userbase has more uniformity on top of being smaller, meaning less variation and thus less representation of the true "whole").

Digging: NEPTUNIAN MAXIMALISM - Éons

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


11376 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Arguing that an album is good because it has a high average somewhere is pretty silly, come on now. If you love the album, fair enough.



Also, need I remind you that Slipknot was sitting at 100 on metacritic for two weeks?

Pikazilla
September 12th 2019


11376 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Exactly, tectactoe. There's a thing such as selection bias for a reason. Sput is specific in its taste, and that's fine. But you can't use that as an argument in favour of an album being good or not.

DeadBitchAlexis
September 12th 2019


3315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone who genuinely thinks that higher ratings = automatically good isnt something worth wasting time with.

butt.
September 12th 2019


7565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Also, need I remind you that Slipknot was sitting at 100 on metacritic for two weeks?"

I see no problem here lol



regardless of which website you use, the point is that you'd be hard-pressed to find a serious professional music critic who would honestly argue that Brand New is "bad" or that they are poor songwriters. You have to accept that your opinion is a major outlier.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy