Manchester Orchestra A Black Mile to the Surface
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pheromone
June 27th 2019


7122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i want to know each part

Digging: Traffic Sound - Virgin

Mongi123
June 27th 2019


20496 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea some of these songs it's like shit Hull you talkin to me? haha

Pheromone
June 27th 2019


7122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really the only thing that feels remotely comforting in a shitty period is that there will always be an album which feels like it was made just for you in that moment. Hope it all sorts itself out soon x

kalkwiese
June 28th 2019


3654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Phenomenal album, it's so immersive!

Larkinhill
June 28th 2019


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is a gift from the gods (and Hull).

theNateman
June 28th 2019


3723 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I learned a week ago that I'm gonna be a father of a little girl, and the sunshine and the maze has been on repeat for me since then.

Digging: Thom Yorke - Anima

Larkinhill
June 28th 2019


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is so full of emotion, passion and inspiration.



Congrats btw man! I’m a father to two girls. It’s the best ride of my life.

Mongi123
June 28th 2019


20496 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Congrats man! I know some of this album is about fatherhood but a lot of this is so metaphorical that it can be taken so many different ways.

DDDeftoneDDD
June 28th 2019


5808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Congrats Nate. I felt the relation as well and don't need lyrics lololol. I'm a father for 4 months now m/

Digging: Bizu Coolective - Talkback

DDDeftoneDDD
June 28th 2019


5808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

3 dudes and 4 girls...maybe we should keep working guys X)X)

Mongi123
June 28th 2019


20496 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

COULDNT REALLY LOVE YOU ANYMORE

YOUVE BECOME MY CEILING

YOU DONT HAVE TO HOLD ME ANYMORE

OUR CAVES COLLAPSING

Larkinhill
June 28th 2019


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The lyrics are so emotionally hard hitting and relatable — so many of the lyrics can be applied to various scenarios, relationships etc.

DDDeftoneDDD
June 28th 2019


5808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stop or I ll five this

Really, I know someday I will though

Larkinhill
June 28th 2019


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There is nothing you keep, there is only your reflection!

Larkinhill
June 29th 2019


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just now listened to MO’s cover of My Backwards Walk (Frightened Rabbit). The song is stunning and the story behind Scott Hutcheson’s depression, disappearance and subsequent suicide is heart breaking. Has anyone gone through FR’s discog? The ratings on the site are solid. Might need to check them out.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 29th 2019


31448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Larkin definitely check out their entire discography in order. It's essential. Midnight Organ Fight is a top 20 album ALL TIME for me, maybe even top 10.



I'm reviewing that tribute/covers album btw.

Digging: Bad Books - III

Larkinhill
June 29th 2019


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh wow. Say no more, I’ll tackle their discog after I’m finished with The National’s.

nolerthebowler
June 30th 2019


3761 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The other day someone pointed out how close the melody to “The Mistake” sounds like “Anthony’s Song” by Billy Joel.



“I don’t wanna die alone, tell me there’s another option for me” vs. “Anthony works at the grocery store, saving his pennies for someday”



Slightly different key, but almost identical melody. Kinda kills the song for me, thankfully it’s a lesser track.

Larkinhill
July 11th 2019


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just the usual bump to say this album is still amazing and fresh. Still listen constantly.



This is my favorite album of the 2010s — Brand New/Science Fiction, The National/Trouble Will Find Me, Deftones/Diamond Eyes and Thrice/Major Minor round out my top 4. keep in mind I’m relatively new to the site and don’t listen to NEARLY as much new music and bands as everyone here does. My musical tastes are somewhat narrow admittedly. But every album up there is a hard 5 for me, and the only 5s I have given for albums this decade.

Lucman
July 11th 2019


2872 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice picks, Lark! TDAG was released in 2006 though, iirc.

Digging: Prince Daddy and The Hyena - Cosmic Thrill Seekers



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy