Fleet Foxes Crack-Up
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lucman
April 15th 2019


2331 Comments


I must begin listening to these guys.

Digging: Glen Hansard - This Wild Willing

TheLongShot
April 15th 2019


752 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Go through their stuff chronologically, their artistic evolution is honestly pretty incredible and I think it gets underappreciated by a lot of people.

AdolfChrist
April 15th 2019


20673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gorgeous album. one of those albums that makes me think of traveling on unfamiliar roads and goodbyes and hellos and coffee cups and bonfires and family get-togethers as a kid at camp grounds and ex girlfriends and future girlfriends and the excitement of moving somewhere new and going places youve never been.

Digging: Horsehunter - Horsehunter

Hopelust
April 15th 2019


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good call!

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 16th 2019


30254 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah, better than Helplessness Blues...that's a lot to fathom

Digging: Glen Hansard - This Wild Willing

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2019


6736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I delved back into this and i like it more. definitely different and quite the statement for the band and especially pecknold. Interested to hear what their next one sounds like, if there is one.

Digging: Grizzly Bear - Shields

Kompys2000
April 23rd 2019


2527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is probably their worst record and it's still not that bad, it just doesn't have the same warm, pastoral vibe that their first 2 have.

Digging: Whiskeytown - Stranger's Almanac

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2019


6736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yeah id agree there, it also sounds conflicted in places. Dig the progressive/experimental places but less user friendly, actually way less user friendly.

JesperL
April 23rd 2019


375 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

might have to bump this up to a 5

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 23rd 2019


30254 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think this is the best thing they've done. When I hear this album, it's actually hard to go back to Helplessness Blues and appreciate it on the same level because Crack-Up is so much more experimental and challenging.

Kompys2000
April 23rd 2019


2527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's fair, I just feel like "experimental and challenging" doesn't really play to Pecknold's strengths as a songwriter, or at least to what I find appealing about his writing.

JesperL
April 23rd 2019


375 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'd agree that this is their best work. always considered helplesness blues to be their best, but this works so perfectly as an album. hb has the better individual tracks, but there's not a song on this i'd skip.



on top of that, i (now) have some very nice memories attached to this record from around the time it was released, which definitely helps haha

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2019


18283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

This has some duds, mainly the more popular songs, but so many breathtaking and amazing moments overall.

Digging: Amon Tobin - Fear In A Handful Of Dust

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 23rd 2019


30254 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cassius is so underrated...that outro is breathtaking



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy