Slowdive Slowdive
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheWatchman71
July 9th 2020


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I’m pretty sure I read that Neil Halstead was living with members of Seefeel when he was writing Pygmalion. Unless I dreamt it? Seefeel are amazing for sure.

TheWatchman71
July 9th 2020


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album was such a surprise. I was obsessed with them as a teenager and was gutted when they got slated by melody maker or whichever publication it was that killed off shoegaze. So when there was word of a reunion I dreaded it because like so many ill fated reunions they just kill the legacy. But this album is something special, and the tour was probably the best gig of my life.

TheWatchman71
July 10th 2020


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Found the article - I’ve put the link in the Pygmalion thread. It’s a great read and you really get a sense of what was going on for the band around the time of 5EP and Pygmalion. Looks like Neil was just mad for Autechre and Aphex Twin. It was clear to see when they gave In Mind to be remixed by reload and bandulu.

TronaldDump
July 10th 2020


1011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No Longer Making Time might be my favorite shoegaze song, period.

TheWatchman71
July 10th 2020


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Incredible song agreed



“Forever we be

Together we breathe”



The whole album is just so moving, and then when ‘falling ashes’ hits - oh boy, that really does destroy me. That piano slowly unravelling your mind. Perfect end song.



Can’t help but be greedy and want more - 3 years feels like a long time after being given this.

Morningrise767
September 18th 2020


2758 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can’t wait for the new album! : D

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2020


5328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

wait wat new Slowdive

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2020


29345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if this is bait i will wipe the last 10 pages of this thread out of spite

Digging: Tricot - 10

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2020


5328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

pffft you don't have the guts

Morningrise767
September 18th 2020


2758 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Check their Insta guys

It’s legit

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2020


5328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

woop woop hype

Trifolium
September 18th 2020


19094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If it's a further exploration of what they did on Go Get It here I'd be SO happy! Hyped either way!

butt.
September 18th 2020


8001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yessssss. Hopefully early 2021 release?

Digging: KEN mode - Loved

pollastrerostit
September 21st 2020


259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

H Y P E

Digging: Envy - The Fallen Crimson

Lucman
September 21st 2020


4863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's something about "Don't Know Why" that really, really gets to me. Best on here for me, with "Slomo" being a close second.

Digging: The Cure - Disintegration

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2020


29345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Big agree to that take

Trifolium
September 21st 2020


19094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slomo is certainly up there yes, among their very best tracks even. Very nice disk this.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2020


5328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Don't Know Why" and "Slomo" best tracks ye

protokute
September 21st 2020


905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Don't Know Why" is d e e p.

Digging: Sam Phillips - Martinis & Bikinis

Morningrise767
September 21st 2020


2758 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Everything on here is great



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy