Mastodon Emperor of Sand
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
March 25th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wrong Mastodon thread bro.

pizzamachine
March 25th 2024


26998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I appreciate your wrong opinion but I appreciate mine more

Hawks
March 25th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ily bro but this album is dog shit lmao.

Sevengill
March 25th 2024


11919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

the cover is a bad starting point

pourradass
March 25th 2024


579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's not great aside from the last 3 tracks or so like that other guy said

FowlKrietzsche
March 26th 2024


633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably the only album I have rated this high that starts as poorly as this does, but the back half is so good idc about having to put up with Show Yourself

pourradass
March 26th 2024


579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Steambreather would be up there with a better chorus

GhostShelter
March 30th 2024


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good album. Steambreather riff is so simple but one of the band’s more infectious and impactful riffs IMO. Can never forget it.

Demon of the Fall
March 30th 2024


33540 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Blow yourself is a hard 1, aye

Album ain’t that bad otherwise, probably peaks higher than Mushed & Grim

0GuyMan0
April 2nd 2024


4578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed on Steambreather. Chorus hits hard too, imo.



Still say this album does what the Hunter did, just worse. Someday people will come around on that one, I swear.

DominionMM1
April 3rd 2024


21092 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ehh i think this one’s a bit more consistent than the hunter. plus this has jaguar god.

VlacDrac
April 3rd 2024


2318 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This album sucks ass.

Frost15
April 3rd 2024


2708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huh?!

VlacDrac
April 3rd 2024


2318 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I hate Mastodon so much. They should've called it a day after releasing Crack The Skye.

Sevengill
April 3rd 2024


11919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

In retrospect yeah, but hating them seems...strong

StormChaser
April 3rd 2024


2085 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow looks like vlad is making a strong play for smok's horrible take throne

WalrusTusk
April 3rd 2024


1800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think they should have called it a day, but their music is missing the bite and experimentation that it previously had. Moments from Emperor and Hushed give me hope that we could still get a more aggressive album in the future, but the clock is certainly ticking.

VlacDrac
April 3rd 2024


2318 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I seriously don't get the appeal, like, why do Sputnik Music users love Mastodon's post-2011 catalogue so much? I used to be a huge fan of their music up until CTS. When they teased the album art of The Hunter back 2011 I thought it looked amazing and after hearing the singles I wasn't sure I was enjoying their music as much as before, however, I did give it a shot. Fast forward to 2014, the same situation happened with OMRTS, album art looked incredible, I gave High Road a listen and thought it was good even though it was different than their previous output and more akin to The Hunter. Once the album dropped in it's entirety, I was once again disappointed. The same thing happened to me with Emperor of Sand and Hushed and Grim. People can enjoy all kinds of music, even music that I don't care for or "don't get", I simply don't want to pretend stuff like Show Yourself is enjoyable to me, no matter how many mental gymnastics I have to convince myself to enjoy it.



tl;dr I miss the old Mastodon.

Sevengill
April 3rd 2024


11919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Our man is still in the "anger" phrase of grief.

WalrusTusk
April 3rd 2024


1800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I miss old Mastodon too. There's an energy within their first four albums that hasn't been matched since. And I completely agree that their poppier songs ("Show Yourself", "Teardrinker") are far from the best thing in their catalogue. But when Emperor of the Sand dropped, my mom had just gotten a pretty scary cancer diagnosis, and so everything on that album just hit. It was a different Mastodon sound, but the emotional gravitas was there. Hushed and Grim didn't quite have that connection to my personal life when it hit, but I really loved songs like "More than I Could Chew", "Pushing the Tide", and "Had it All." Their sound has aged, but there are still plenty of riffs and songs that hit hard.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy