Run the Jewels Run the Jewels 3
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2016


17077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Way prefer '36 Chambers' to 'Illmatic'

calmrose
December 26th 2016


2337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel like I'm listening to a different album than everyone else, this is pretty meh for the most part

Digging: Glassjaw - Coloring Book

ShitsofRain
December 26th 2016


8040 Comments


FINALLY PLATINUM

Digging: Dark0 - Xenotype

DeadPoe
December 26th 2016


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is heaps better than the previous two albums.

Nrap
December 26th 2016


401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Where this go on ur list Doof?

BillClinton
December 26th 2016


157 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Really odd review. Not feeling it. But definitely agree on the rating. They are 3 for 3. Hoping some solo albums are next for them.

LordePots
December 26th 2016


38567 Comments


album art is missing something

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

Asdfp277
December 26th 2016


16136 Comments


the jewels

LordePots
December 26th 2016


38567 Comments


pretty embarrassing

Asdfp277
December 26th 2016


16136 Comments


do they even run

TheMrAlexK
December 26th 2016


8909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Doof is that a sincere 5 or is that a hype 5?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2016


20115 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is prob a 3.5

becomesmusical
December 26th 2016


84 Comments


This review kind of reminds me of that one Blackstar write-up, even if not necessarily in regards to content, vision or length. Rather, the similarities are rooted in the lack of substantial critiques on the albums in question; I don't know much more about RTJ3 after reading this review than I did beforehand.

The few points that actually address the album's content, primarily in the form of random quotes, call to mind Rolling Stone soundoff-esque reviews that slip in a tidbit here and there for the unstated purpose of advertising. It is true that those lines appear on the album (most likely; I haven't listened to it myself), and I suppose they are a bit witty or amusing, even out of context. What the reader is supposed to make of them beyond that remains underdeveloped. Musically, the write-up is even more sparse. "Thursday in the Dark Room" has solid production / an effective Kamasi Washington contribution, Trina's guest spot is enthusiastic, and "Kill Your Masters" is a good closer despite failing to live up to past De La Rocha contributions. Those are a few bullet points unique to three of the album's 14 tracks. General moods, themes, instrumentation, etc., for the rest of the release (which really only needed brief descriptions) remain unaddressed.

I'm also confused by the 4.1. It sounds like they're lowballing, but they're Run The Jewels. Run The Jewels is awesome, hence even their lesser works are great, hence a 4.1. Maybe this album *deserves* a really solid rating, but as it stands that's not much of an argument for a fairly high mark.

Sorry if I went on a bit here, but I really can't say I'm a fan of this review. As others have said, it's quite well-written but it's undercooked. You've written better.

plane
Emeritus
December 26th 2016


6867 Comments


I think the gold hands implied ~they are the jewels~

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2016


20115 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

on one hand I agree with everyone that this isn't the most developed review and doesn't tell me much about the album...



but on the other hand I haven't been able to write a review that is this well written in terms of prose and style and flow so who am I to say

becomesmusical
December 26th 2016


84 Comments


Yeah, it's easy to call into question the integrity of an analysis when one does not have to actually write anything of a similar purpose. Still, I think a lot of people expect more developed assessments by staff members than by run-of-the-mill reviewers. I really did enjoy how eloquent the review was; I just expected more developed commentary.

deezer666
December 26th 2016


2856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Better than illmatic!?? Jesus christ, just when you think 2016 couldnt get any more retarded.



Digging: Throane - Plus Une Main A Mordre

TheMrAlexK
December 26th 2016


8909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There are better hip hop albums then Illmatic, this one probably isn't one of them though.

TecumsehGargoyle
December 26th 2016


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They just keep getting better and better

TVC15
December 26th 2016


8984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Lol this don't got shit on Illmatic. Agreed, these guys' albums have absolutely been getting better with each release

Digging: Alkaline Trio - Alkaline Trio



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy