A Tribe Called Quest We got it from Here… Thank You 4 Your service
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PotsyTater
August 11th 2023


10100 Comments


i was listening to Beats Rhymes and Life for the first time in years today. Low-key just as good as LET and MM imo.

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2023


4148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed potsy!

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2023


47774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4 | Sound Off

I like that album but imo it's a Tip album that got mistitled as Tribe

PotsyTater
September 6th 2023


10100 Comments


That’s a pretty bad take

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2023


4148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is indeed a pretty bad take. Beats, Rhymes, and Life is perhaps their most collaborative album lol

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2023


47774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4 | Sound Off

how so lol. Phife is barely on it and they were at each other's throats the entire time he was there. the vibes are completely different and way darker than Tribe's usual stuff. Tip's random cousin gets as much screentime as Phife which I'm okay with because Cons is good but it sure as shit don't feel like Tribe. is any of this registering in your logic centres

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2023


4148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Huh! I just remember reading about how this was their only album produced wholly by the ummah



Wouldn’t say the vibes are completely different though! There’s lots of tribe flavor in there, just not as bottom heavy of a sound

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2023


47774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4 | Sound Off

yeah I think you're right there. the vibe I'm talking about isn't so much the beats though as the lyrics being a lot darker and more story heavy than the other Tribe stuff. it's def the most aggressive Tip ever got and Phife isn't really there to balance him out

PotsyTater
September 7th 2023


10100 Comments


Yeah but that was a common development in the mid to late 90’s across the board.

Idk it’s kinda like saying de La soul post prince paul is less de la soul cuz they got less cheesy

Artists are allowed to evolve lol

Besides, it’s about 5 million times better than any solo q tip record and I find it a disservice to everyone else who contributed to the album

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2023


4148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gotta agree with potsy here, well said.



It’s funny with hip hop heads, they’re dissing braggadocio, then turning around and dissing conscious lyrics. Seemingly never satisfied!



This is not a dig at you Rowan, just an observation

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2023


27809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been listening to mobius a ton lately. The way busta comes in halfway through the extraordinarily “songlike” second beat loop is so sick



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy