Jimmy Eat World Integrity Blues
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2016


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Mine and Rowan's are actual critique as well, we just like it a lot.



But you should, no harm ever came from a harsher look at something (which a 4 isn't lol)

ashcrash9
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2016


3339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Mine and Rowan's are actual critique as well"

whoops, no disrespect meant to you dudes, bad choice of words there on my part

I just mean mine would be a little more nitpicky, despite the 4

Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2016


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol no worries I didn't mean to sound offended - anyway back to the point, you definitely should. anytime inspiration strikes, it's the best time to write.

MrSirLordGentleman
October 24th 2016


15343 Comments


this guys are coming to the Lollapalooza in my country

if I check them will you stop hating me Futures dude?

Futures
October 24th 2016


10031 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

might have to give this a 5 rev :^)

minty901
October 24th 2016


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Needs a 3.5 critique :P

Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2016


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the more reviews for this the better, good or bad or mediocre



brings it to people's attention and allows them to decide

minty901
October 24th 2016


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

too hard to rate this though. is Kill actually better than any song on here, or is it just the 12 years of nostalgia that makes Kill seem more unbeatable than it actually is? Kill just being an example to represent "classic JEW", but there are plenty others.



if this came out 12 years ago and Futures came out today, would I prefer this?

ashcrash9
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2016


3339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Needs a 3.5 critique"

Mine would teeter on 3.5, I'm finding this right in the middle of a 3.5 and 4

minty901
October 24th 2016


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I went up to a 4 for a moment but brought it back down when I realised I only really put it up to a 4 because I wanted to believe that it was a 4, but I have to be completely honest with myself.

Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2016


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You're spot on with that kind of thinking. I love Kill as a JEW classic but it didn't earn that status until the unrequited love of a future girl/woman lent tremendous meaning to the lyrics.



I actually think this is more consistent than Futures, but it lacks that killer single like Work or Pain. There's a lot of tracks on par with 23 sound wise but they don't seem as epic because they're 4 minutes long instead of 7 and don't have "don't give away the end, the one thing that stays mine" (classic lyrics right there).



Anyway I do think if I heard this album back when I heard Futures and this was just in its place that it would also be a 5 right now. Just speculation though.

Toondude10
October 24th 2016


15178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only checked out the first song from this and really enjoyed it, will check the rest out sometime tomorrow

minty901
October 24th 2016


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But then I remember that I have Damage at a 5, so surely that means that I really don't need the nostalgia, since Damage isn't that old and it went to a 5 after only like a month. Oh I don't know. I need more time. I'm sure I had Damage at 3.5 at least for a little while too. It's hard but I can't force myself to connect with something when I really don't. But I wish I could.

Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2016


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I never force myself to connect. Not even sure if that's possible. It either resonates or it doesn't. That's why so many albums need time. Often it's just as much about what's going on in your life as it is the music itself.

minty901
October 24th 2016


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think this album is great. one of their most creative albums. 9 out of 11 songs dont make me feel anything though. sure and certain makes me feel really warm and nostalgic and integrity blues makes me feel emotional. but the other songs are just good-to-really-good songs. but thats not really enough for anything higher than a 3.5 right now. every song on damage hits me in the gut.



youre right though. its as much a personal thing as it is anything else.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2016


9748 Comments


Often it's just as much about what's going on in your life as it is the music itself. [2] so hard


Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2016


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

For me is the exact opposite. Damage had 3 good songs and 1 great one. This is uniformly excellent.

Futures
October 24th 2016


10031 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not even close to a bad song on here

Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2016


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

agree



pass the baby is actually the closest I come to getting bored on this but even there the second half salvages the hell out of it

minty901
October 24th 2016


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not trying to be confrontational here, but I don't quite get what The End Is Beautiful does for people that makes it better than Please Say No. Is it lyrics, or production? I know it's all subjective but I'm just curious what you guys think makes one song better than the other, when they're both fairly similar in style. If anything specific comes to mind, that is.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy