Neurosis Fires Within Fires
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
September 18th 2016


37134 Comments


Times of grace and silver are my favourites

Deez
September 18th 2016


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have you guys ever listened to Scott Kelly's solo work?'



Yeah i love scott and steves solo stuff. Also Blood and Time.

Deez
September 18th 2016


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In fact pretty much everything Neurosis related

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
September 18th 2016


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I need to check Kelly's solo stuff



Storm will always be my favorite Neurosis, also Souls gets better and better the more I hear it. I'll be surprised if it surpasses A Sun That Never Sets as my 2nd favorite though

Deez
September 18th 2016


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont even try and compare it to those records. As you said in the review they were over a decade ago. They are different people now. If you try and listen to new Neurosis with any thoughts of TSIB or ASTNS or any of those classic albums some that have been with me nearly half my life youre not going to be able to take the new songs for what they are.

Mongi123
September 18th 2016


22035 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review talons as always, can't wait for this!

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
September 18th 2016


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I agree deezer, as you said, those are my quotes. I wasn't comparing to this or anything, I was just talking about my favorite Neurosis records.



Thanks Mongi! I'm curious of what you'll think about this.

Mongi123
September 18th 2016


22035 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Me as well man, I thought honor was pretty good, but I also thought that they could do better so hopefully they top that.

FullOfSounds
September 18th 2016


15821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The 23rd can't get here fast enough.

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
September 18th 2016


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've always thought the lighter sections were more memorable on Honor than the heaviness and it made me want to hear them go full post-rock, even if they'd probably never do that. Maybe a side project some time, who knows.

FullOfSounds
September 18th 2016


15821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know how I'd feel about Neurosis going full post-rock. It'd take a few albums to transition for sure though.

Deez
September 18th 2016


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shame Shrinebuilder is done tbh



McNamara
September 18th 2016


92 Comments


Just got back from driving around aimlessly for 2 hours listening to this album. First time through, I was predictably underwhelmed. Second time through, things started to stand out more. And after the third time, I'm excited about how much I'm gonna like this album. As others have said, I do wish it had another track on it. Four years since the last album, I was hoping for more than 40 minutes. Third time through, I said to myself "this song again already???" But I guess quality, not quantity.

Deez
September 18th 2016


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know what you mean, youre so used to those huge build ups. And it doesnt really happen so much on here. As said you have to take every release for what it is. They were writing those songs 10 years ago. Even HFID only had a couple of songs like that.

icatchthirtythree
September 18th 2016


1149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

On my second listen right now, already growing on me. This is also definitely a headphones kinda album

icatchthirtythree
September 18th 2016


1149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but yeah I'm just really stoked I get to keep listening to this all week

Deez
September 18th 2016


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is also definitely a headphones kinda album'



Yeah I felt I missed a lot of Noahs parts. Going to revisit with headphones,



icatchthirtythree
September 18th 2016


1149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I did my speakers on first listen and it felt a little weird. Listening on headphones right now and there's tons of awesome details. And Noah does have a lot of good shit going on

Flugmorph
September 18th 2016


34359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh it has an review what a surprise

Totengott
September 18th 2016


4252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very nice review, I already love this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy