Songs: Ohia The Lioness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
May 27th 2018


19609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is good but it really isn’t hitting me like Magnolia Electric Co. It starts strong but it fizzles out toward the end.

Sniff
May 27th 2018


6755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Correct that opinion

Drifter
May 27th 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[2]

Digging: Deftones - Around the Fur

Drifter
May 27th 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Boneward stop comparing this Magnolia and you might dig it more

theBoneyKing
May 27th 2018


19609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’m not comparing them to each other just noting its impact isn’t as great. Could just be I haven’t been in the right mood for this.

Drifter
May 27th 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hmm..... That's tough

Sniff
May 27th 2018


6755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bbbbut coxcomb red though

DoofusWainwright
May 27th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Boney is correct, this doesn't have the same power as a 'complete statement' as Magnolia Electric.



This is a 4 though

theBoneyKing
May 27th 2018


19609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love Black Crow, Tigress, Being In Love, and Lioness. Rest are relatively disposable, especially the last three. It kind of feels like he had those really strong tracks and just padded out the rest to fill the album.

I’m not a huge fan of all the animal imagery in the lyrics, Mark Linkous does that sort of thing better imo.

Again it’s far from bad it just doesn’t leave a lasting impact on me.

DoofusWainwright
May 27th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The last three are the weak spot agreed, I think all the first six songs are excellent though

Drifter
May 27th 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Boney you named all the highlights except for Coxcomb Red. Don't like that ad much? Pretty destructive tbh

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2018


26098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

falling in love with this pretty fast



the 1,2,3 punch of Being in Love, Lioness and Coxcomb Red is just fantastic

Drifter
August 21st 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's interesting hearing a live version of Being In Love from 1998 when he still had his high voice and not having that buzz in the background

Pheromone
August 21st 2018


8764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

such a special atmosphere on this

Digging: Lagwagon - Let's Talk About Feelings

Drifter
August 21st 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of his best. I think Didn't It Rain is the best Songs: Ohia album though

Pheromone
August 22nd 2018


8764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is pretty easily my favourite Molina, I really like the rest but this feels so much more complete and specials. He never tackles the emotional semi-crescendos as well as he does on here



WE’LL BE GONE BY MORNINGGG OR BE TOGETHER BY THEN

Drifter
October 23rd 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I want my heart to break

If it must break, in your jaws

Want you to lick my blood off your paws





What a devastating song ;-;



Drifter
November 23rd 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still can't download/listen to the new comp ):

Drifter
November 27th 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

New comp is finally out guys. 11 unreleased Lioness songs.



https://songsohia.bandcamp.com/album/love-work-the-lioness-sessions

Drifter
November 30th 2018


16443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Back On Top and Baby Take a Look have grown on me recently. The lyrics are too good. Still can never remember anything from Just a Spark other than that it uses the same chords as Black Crow



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy