Kevin Morby Singing Saw
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
September 12th 2016


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

To each his own Boney and I could totally see someone not digging this as much more than a good indie rock record. But for me I can't get over over the consistent quality (not a bad song at all) and combination of haunting acoustic ballads. The whole thing is so diverse musically as well. So many different twists and wrinkles; all of them work beautifully. Anyone who dislikes "Destroyer" can probably no longer be my friend. ; )

Digging: Jimmy Eat World - Surviving

theBoneyKing
September 12th 2016


17418 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hear in Kevin a better arranger than songwriter/lyricist is my issue I guess. Give these backing tracks to a better lyricist or more emotional singer and you'd have a better album.

But yeah to each his own of course. I'm happy you like this so much!

RadicalEd
October 31st 2016


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His new song is pretty nice.



http://pitchfork.com/reviews/tracks/18591-kevin-morby-beautiful-strangers/

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


8156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am so fucking wildly in love with this album, so glad I finally decided to give it a listen

I wish I could live inside the little musical lulls in Dorothy

Digging: Common Holly - When I say to you Black Lightning

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2016


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah Dorothy is so fantastic, one of my favorite songs of 2016

Deathconscious
December 17th 2016


22666 Comments


well this is awesome.

Digging: Slutvomit - Copulation of Cloven Hooves

ZippaThaRippa
December 17th 2016


10529 Comments


"Alongside the campfire and under the stars, Kevin Morby gives us a folk album for the ages."
Specifically the ages 14-17 which you evidently never left

henryChinaski
December 30th 2016


4278 Comments


Oh my god this is so good! Thank you Sputnik!

Digging: The Devil Wears Prada - The Act

NorthernSkylark
February 8th 2017


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very good indeed

Digging: Cotton Jones - Paranoid Cocoon

NorthernSkylark
February 8th 2017


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Weird that his other albums have so few ratings compared to this

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2017


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed. tried getting people more interested in Still Life but I think posting my review around the time Sowing posted his for this was bad timing. All his stuff is solid

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 22nd 2017


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

He has a new song out and a new album coming June 16.

theBoneyKing
March 22nd 2017


17418 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh wow, didn't expect a new album so soon. This was solid, hopefully he improves on the songwriting a bit.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 22nd 2017


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

the new song didn't leave much of an impression on me so I'm guessing this will remain his album to beat

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2017


8156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haven't heard the new song yet but very excited for a new album

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 22nd 2017


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

http://pitchfork.com/news/72409-kevin-morby-announces-new-album-city-music-shares-new-track-come-to-me-now-listen/





SowingSeason
Moderator
June 19th 2017


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

Aaand this earned the 5. Being let down by his new one probably helped. Gawd 'Destroyer' has got to be one of the best songs ever written.

JWT155
June 19th 2017


14440 Comments


His new album is okay

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 19th 2017


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

it's a 3.5ish for me right now but it just feels like this album minus all the best moments and with fewer memorable melodies

JWT155
June 19th 2017


14440 Comments


I have it at a 3, it's above average and I dig a few of the tracks but nothing on the record has blown me away. City Music is my favorite track due to it's length and jam session breakdown towards the end of the track letting the song breathe a little more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy