Brand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
claygurnz
April 25th 2016


6613 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha I probably should Zak, I dunno how healthy it is to rate albums after only hearing them once.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2016


7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

bad review is bad

torts
April 26th 2016


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shit garbage review is shit garbage

zakalwe
April 26th 2016


34620 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Brats are clueless and brats

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2016


7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah, I'm not sure you are getting this...

zakalwe
April 26th 2016


34620 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol

Spacesh1p
April 26th 2016


7717 Comments


This review is art, we all know this.












Lot more than that TDaG thing.

bakkermaarten007
April 26th 2016


5285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review is actually really well written. Too bad it doesn't apply to the album =)



bakkermaarten007
April 26th 2016


5285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also; this album isn't emo. It has certain emo aesthetics yes. And the lyrical content is quite deep, almost all of it revolves around the eternal struggle to suppress your nefarious side.

I know Jesse Lacey's lyrical style might seem shallow sometimes, but it's rather brilliant for after subsequent listens you notice the extra layers of meaning draped over that apparent thinness.

His lyrical plot flows so good from seemingly ordinary life events to allegorical symbolism.

The guy can write

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2016


7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

When i say this review is bad, I agree with bakkermaarten007 in the sense that its certainly not poorly written. However, it is a flawed argument.



The whole critique revolves around the idea that the record is some dribble drummed up in a boardroom and churned out for the masses, which, if all the unsubstantiated fluff is removed from it, is just an argument that "I don't like it because its popular." Now such an argument can have substance if you argue that because of this boardroom popular feel it comes across as emotionless, or false, or overly polished. You make a few of those arguments and they're fine and I can understand where you're coming from. But a lot of your points seem to be simply nothing more than the argument that its bad because its easy to listen to and because lots of people like it, which really isn't a convincing argument. If anything, the fact you admit its an album that a lot of people highly regard places the onus on you to produce a strong argument against that, which I feel that you fail to do.



The rest of your critique is basically "its bad because its bad because I say so," like your argument against 'Handcuffs.' And when you do go into more depth with your points your argument is highly underdeveloped and fails to engage with the otherside of the debate e.g. the often well written lyrics. For instance your comments on 'Degausser' are cursory and lacking in substance.



And whats left of you argument are just childish statements that the album and band have silly names, incredibly superficial points.



I get that this is probably more of a joke review to get reactions out of brand new fans, or maybe to make yourself feel proud as you attempt to belittle popular bands that you deem inferior. But if you are going to do that, at least have a half decent argument to back it up. Otherwise it just comes across as pretentious and insulting towards the people that actually like the record.

zakalwe
April 27th 2016


34620 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yep

Artuma
April 27th 2016


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"The Smiths were basically emo before emo existed tbh agreed "



lol no

Digging: Trophy Scars - Astral Pariah

DoofusWainwright
April 27th 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Every force has an equal and opposite reaction - blame all those 5's for this review

Shemson
April 27th 2016


2000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is not the review Sputnik wants, it's the review Sputnik needs.

NeroCorleone80
April 27th 2016


34618 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

One of the best agreed

LotusFlower
April 27th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

basically "its bad because its bad because I say so"




To be fair, that is the basis of all opinions ever.

claygurnz
April 27th 2016


6613 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^ Lol for real

Snake.
April 27th 2016


23490 Comments


fucking christ

MyNameIsPencil
April 27th 2016


6253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Devil is odd and raging at me

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2016


7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Cl0ver: basically yeah thats what opinions are, you are right, but most opinions have some logic or reasoning behind them. A review is meant to state an opinion and then articulate the reasoning behind the opinion, not just repeatedly state the opinion without explaining it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy