Supercar Futurama
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AnimalsAsSummit
October 24th 2019


6159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh ok haha that seems to be the case reading back well good on you both. these guys are high quality for sure.

Trifolium
October 24th 2019


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah for sure. So much energy and produced perfectly, that guitar, distortion, those hard hitting drums, all great.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2019


60252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Gonna have to pass that on to Fripp for getting me to check this and Answer after I got into Highvision - might well have got stuck spinning that forever otherwise! Starting to get pumped to round up their middle albums, just need to get through a few more 2010s catchups and then I'm gonna crash out in style with them

Trifolium
October 24th 2019


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yessssss, those OO_ea_!! albums are amazing too.

AnimalsAsSummit
October 24th 2019


6159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you guys don't mind instrumental stuff similar to this style, try Technicolor. they're like space rock + electronic

Trifolium
October 24th 2019


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds great, adding to my list.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2019


60252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Damn, if stretch from Shibuya Morning through Everybody on News had been cut I think this'd be one of the easiest 4.5s ever

Trifolium
November 14th 2019


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still like those tracks but I know what you mean. I think this might be my fave Supercar by now though.

Trifolium
November 29th 2019


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whiitteee

Suuuurrrrf

Stylllee

Fiiiiiiihihiivve



JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2019


60252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

!!!

Watched a sad show last night and rode it off with New Young City feels RIP :'[

Trifolium
November 29th 2019


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Omg that's very :'[ agreed. A beaut of a track. The Japanese have such a great ear and eye for melancholy feelings, you notice this in music, games, movies, etc.



Just had to bump this up .5, it is too good.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2019


60252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Hmm yeah it's interesting, that - I think a lot of it has to do with the way a lot of Japanese works are less shy of and more successful in melodrama than modern Western stuff - doesn't seem to go for the same pinch of salt as we do. It's easy to say that having had my whole life to build up a sense of cynicism to western stuff both melancholic and melodramatic, but I think it gives Japanese stuff an extra sense of conviction in that regard



Also nice bump whoop whoop!! Probably gonna follow suit at some point

Trifolium
November 29th 2019


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah they've got a bigger sense of sincerity about them or something. Or at least it doesn't feel as sugary sweet as melancholic stuff in our region usually feels. Or they mix it in with something else, like nostalgia for instance.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


60252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Bump for Recreation being generally one of the best tracks and Answer not having a thread

Kinda fancy doing another Supercar review vaguely soon - Jump Up?

Trifolium
January 24th 2020


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oooh yeah, they deserve it. That's such a fun one, might be the way to go I think. Or perhaps Answer itself? It would give a sense of closure but at the same time it's a little uneven and weird, even for them.

You can always just admit that in the end you'll do them all, that it's only a matter of time and you can pick any of their albums now anyway.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2020


60252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Answer would be a pretty boring rev as things stand, would have to turn it into a career retrospective and work out a line for how well it works as a closing statement hmm

This is fair and true, though fortunately they're not missing much. Would have loved to do this or Highvision most, but both already have lovely writeups (especially this - I think about this review a lot in relation to Supercar and Japanese music in general)

Trifolium
January 24th 2020


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah exactly, felt the retrospective would suit your style. Plus it allows you to cheat and sneak some Highvision and Futurama stuff in too haha!



This review is great agreed, resonated with me too.

Trifolium
September 14th 2020


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bump for SteakByrnes! And bloodshy. And Johnny. And THE WHOLE WORLLDDD!!

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2020


60252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

bump for all the people yay, did you bump bloodshy and Steak? need to jam this one again, was listening to Highvision on an evening train a few weeks ago and ugh i adore this band

Trifolium
September 14th 2020


38867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I rec'd this for bloodshy's CONTINENTAL RECFEST and Steak applauded the choice. Then it made me want to go on a Supercar-binge.

It is The Best Band Johnny. So lovely.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy