Dream Theater The Astonishing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TundraL5Z
April 13th 2018


3000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Black Clouds was really good imo

I definitely think they can come out with another great album, The Astonishing is by far the most disappointing album they have ever put out

Digging: Shadow of Intent - Melancholy

Meridiu5
April 13th 2018


2560 Comments


Anyone else want dominici back?

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

It'd be cool if he were a guest vocalist on the next album. At the time, I'd say James was the superior vocalist, but after the food poisoning incident, well, we all know.

Casavir
April 14th 2018


3637 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yeah, this was terrible.

Davil667
April 14th 2018


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The food poisoning surely isn't the sole reason his voice went down the drain. It seems like he doesn't care anymore and he certainly isn't critical of himself and his performance in the least.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Not saying it's the only factor, but it was certainly either the catalyst or a huge part of it.

Toondude10
April 14th 2018


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wait what food poisoning incident?

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

Casavir
April 14th 2018


3637 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

He had eaten some contaminated shrimp in '94 and it had affected his vocal cords.

Toondude10
April 14th 2018


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oof

Davil667
April 14th 2018


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

“...but it was certainly either the catalyst or a huge part of it.“



Won't argue on that, it surely had a huge impact on his development as vocalist in general, but it's sad it affected him in such a long-lasting way... He recovered pretty well, even if it took quite some time, but now he just seems to be ignorant and even lazy to some degree. I can't help feeling that with more motivation and discipline he would be capable of so much more than what he delivers nowadays.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I'll agree with you there. Only problem is I think it would take a couple albums of that motivation and discipline for him to even begin reaching a commendable level.

DivergentThinking
April 14th 2018


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well, it doesn't help that the music is just as uninspired as his singing

swipenet
April 15th 2018


3012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oof

DivergentThinking
April 15th 2018


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

:-]

Beardog
April 15th 2018


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I think if James just took some singing lessons he would actually be tolerable on tours, but now he's just outright awful. Guest vocalists or even musicians would be cool, but I don't see DT do that.

Digging: The Offering - Home

kalkwiese
April 15th 2018


3916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Even some professional singers have lessons on regular basis to stay in shape

Digging: The Hirsch Effekt - Holon : Hiberno

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

There's even a video on YouTube called the Downward Spiral of James LaBrie that shows how his live performance has deteriorated over time (the guy took the "watch the sparrow falling" section from "Pull Me Under") every year, most notably from the late 90's onward.

Beardog
April 15th 2018


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gbqI_9a7vpE



Shit like this would make Dream Theater enjoyable again I think, just let Petrucci and Rudess do some backing vocals, or even lead vocals in songs again, I always liked it when they did that with Portnoy (except of course the awful metal vox).

MikePornToy
April 16th 2018


35 Comments


When I see fat faced Labrie I'm going to punch his bitch ass back to Canada.

kalkwiese
April 16th 2018


3916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

One of my favourite trolls



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy