Foxing Dealer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
October 30th 2015


27668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indica is so sad I love it...but my favorite track is definitely Eiffel...so killer

MonotoneMop
October 31st 2015


573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's tough to call Foxing a part of the whole 'emo-revival' movement at this point. Compare this to Dowsing for a second in your head.



Dunno where this will sit in rating for me, but it's really, really good. I wasn't the biggest fan of most of Albatross and think this is a huge step up. The subtlety leading up to the big burst of Glass Coughs and Eiffel and the long fizzle of the closing tracks is something that I'd normally just think of as a back-loaded record, but it feels calculated here. I don't think I can really call it AOTY, but The Magdalene is definitely battling with Mew's Cross The River On Your Own for my SOTY.

Conmaniac
October 31st 2015


27668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk man I would call Foxing apart of the emo revival even if they are a bit different from the rest of the scene. Also, Dowsing isn't the epitome of emo revival...

OrangeTheAdventure
October 31st 2015


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm listening to this for the first time and really enjoying it. I'm getting a ton of vibes from it that's similar to Keep You by Pianos Become The Teeth.

OrangeTheAdventure
October 31st 2015


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And yeah, when i think of emo revival i think of You Blew It! or something.

Conmaniac
October 31st 2015


27668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess they aren't so much "emo revival" as they are just plain emo but they are definitely a very important band within the emo scene today

Snake.
October 31st 2015


25192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no these guys are absolutely emo revival



every band that once signed to CYLS is emo revival

Snake.
October 31st 2015


25192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh and you guys aren't kidding about indica, i started crying when conor started singing "and it breaks my mother's heart to know i came back broken".

Conmaniac
October 31st 2015


27668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

have you heard the story behind Indica? honestly really dark and sad

LewisShaw
November 1st 2015


354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

explain pls

MonotoneMop
November 1st 2015


573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dunno what the extent of 'the story' is, but I can say that Indica is about the bassist's time in Afghanistan and references the parents of those he killed while in service.

Conmaniac
November 1st 2015


27668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^yup exactly

dimsim3478
November 1st 2015


8987 Comments


it's not a topic covered very often cuz few musicians have seen combat so those lyrics are sharp as a knife

Conmaniac
November 1st 2015


27668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it really is eye opening to see lyrics about direct combat...especially in this genre. killer lyrics though and such a beautiful track

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2015


47485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Yeah I like this more than the Albatross

Conmaniac
November 1st 2015


27668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I cant decide which one I like more but rn I'm leaning towards Dealer..might bump this up to a 4.5 soon

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2015


47485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Rory is still their best song but on the whole this is way more consistent and emotional. I do miss the slightly more creative song structures of Albatross though, hopefully they combine the two in the future

RadicalEd
November 1st 2015


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is good, but I think it could do with a bit more energy at times and the post-rocky instrumental parts are mostly underwhelming. Also the lyrics are not very noteworthy aside from "Indica"

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2015


47485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Lyrics are fantastic throughout especially on Magdalene

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2015


47485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

IF I SURRENDER









TOOO SOOOOON



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy