CHVRCHES Every Open Eye
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2021


26051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nahhhh this is stronger than their first big time

"Clearest Blue" is so good

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2021


60207 Comments


neek stop jamming this babygirl cake shop band and check yoasobi

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2021


26051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ok

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2021


47582 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

first half of this is rock solid but after Clearest Blue it's the biggest snooze lol, debut is mostly consistently interesting

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2021


26051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disagree but this is def a bit frontloaded

Down Side of Me is great tho

Project
November 1st 2021


5818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd put Screen Violence just below this album personally, but Violent Delights might be my favorite of theirs besides Clearest Blue



Science/Visions is extremely good, but I'd still give the nod to Mother and Recover

Asdfp277
November 2nd 2021


24275 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

checked a few yoasobi songs on youtube, and i second that, even though they're not that similar to chvrches ! >:]

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2021


60207 Comments


agreed but also disagreed because chvrches sound like everyone!!1

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2021


47582 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

lmao bet

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2021


60207 Comments


imagine being in a band so edgy that chrvches can't make a song that sounds like you wow

Purpl3Spartan
November 2nd 2021


8450 Comments


Yoasabi is good yeah

MyMentality
April 17th 2023


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not a bad album, doesn't quite reach the heights of the debut though. Last half of Clearest Blue is a jam!

MyMentality
May 10th 2023


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's a weird one, this is consistently good but doesn't quite have the staying power of Bones and Screen Violence. Keep jumping between a 3.5 and 4 on this, but I feel the debut and SV are solid 4's and this is ever so slightly inferior.

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


1954 Comments


This one definitely suffers the sophomore slump of having to follow up an excellent debut. I'm sure if someone heard this before Bones, it might end up being their favorite simply from how similar they are and having basically the same level of highs, though the deep cuts here seem a little less inspired. Bury It is....pretty bad, for example lol

Still, overall a good-to-great time. And infinitely better than Love is Dead

Project
May 11th 2023


5818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love is Dead was dreadful agreed



but I was so pleasantly surprised by Screen Violence

Tundra
May 11th 2023


9597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fucks hard

MyMentality
May 30th 2023


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh man, Playing Dead's chorus is sublime. Think I like this more than I give it credit for, not one bad song on this. And definitely the most consistent record from these, if not exactly game changing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy