Modest Mouse Good News for People Who Love Bad News
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don’t know man, Spitting Venom and March Into the Sea sound very Modest Mouse to me. There are definitely songs I dislike (Dashboard, We’ve Got Everything, Education) but there are a handful on GN also. I think WWD just sounds like an evolution of their sound from GN.



In the end, they are pretty close quality wise, but I’d choose WWD because of songs like Spitting Venom, Parting of the Sensory and Little Motel.

Artuma
July 17th 2019


32775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Listen to this and We Were Dead back-to-back, there are very clear differences"



they are not the same album, obviously, but the core sound is the same and the difference is much lesser than this and m&a for example

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is this the new “which is better — LCW or M&A”? Lol

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mmhm it's more like they kept their signature sound and filtered it through bigger arrangements, Talking Heads vibes and Johnny Marr (2)



He said it better.

MarsKid
Emeritus
July 17th 2019


21035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Honestly, I think the gap between this and WWD is much bigger than people say it is. And that record has some real high highlights, but its duds are numerous ("We've Got Everything" [2]). Far as I'm concerned this has no bad track on it.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This Devil's Workday and Dance Hall are pretty sub-par, plus The View, Black Cadillacs and even Satin in a Coffin are songs I often forget exist

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gotta disagree hard on The View and Black Cadillacs, both are two of my favorites here. But agree hard on TDW, SIAC and Dance Hall. The interludes are kindof annoying and pointless also.



Both albums are great, but very inconsistent — same with StO as well.

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also not a big fan of One Chance or The Good Times. And Blame it on the Tetons is a good, pretty song but drags on too long.



Love all the other songs though.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

UGH don't even get me started about the interludes - I don't hold them against this album because they're so insubstantial, but the fact that they exist grates on me hard.

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Exactly.

MarsKid
Emeritus
July 17th 2019


21035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Son, you did not just diss "Tetons"

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tetons is pretty nice tbf, but Little Motel leaves it in the dust. One Chance, on the other hand, is maybe my favourite song here; that bridge floors me...



*I'M JUST A BOX IN A CAGE*

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Little Motel >>>> Tetons, agreed. Tetons is good, just overlong. Little Motel is beautiful and heart wrenching.

Gyromania
July 17th 2019


37188 Comments


Gotta agree Dance Hall kinda sucks

MarsKid
Emeritus
July 17th 2019


21035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Both are heart-wrenching, don't discount the emotional punch of "Tetons."

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It just doesn’t pack the same wallop for me, but I’ve really never dug into the lyrics. Def a pretty song though.

Larkinhill
July 17th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gotta agree Dance Hall kinda sucks (2)

MarsKid
Emeritus
July 17th 2019


21035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You just don't like to dance

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll dance all night to Dashboard ;]

MarsKid
Emeritus
July 18th 2019


21035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The funny thing about all this discussion is that I truly love all their albums. So in reality I don't have THAT much of a stake in this argument lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy