Modest Mouse Good News for People Who Love Bad News
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
momentsofclarity
April 16th 2019


617 Comments


first 3 tracks/satin in a coffin = faves

guitarded_chuck
April 16th 2019


18070 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

>20 years later sputnik finally gives the album the respect it deserves

theBoneyKing
April 16th 2019


24513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There are definitely some misguided moments here but yeah from a songwriting perspective this is still pretty damn great if not quite as amazing as the preceding albums.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

V much a highlight album but that's always the way with MM

grannypantys
April 16th 2019


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

later day MM albums maybe

SandwichBubble
April 16th 2019


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"V much a highlight album but that's always the way with MM"

You fool.

theBoneyKing
April 16th 2019


24513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If highlight album means every song is a highlight then I agree

Larkinhill
April 16th 2019


7893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The View, World at Large, Black Cadillacs and Ocean are my favorites here. Great album.

SandwichBubble
April 16th 2019


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only post-2000s releases may be referred to as "highlight albums"

Except No One's First, that one's good all the way through

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cmon guys, I love Modest Mouse as much as anyone but if Long Drive isn't the virtual definition of a highlight album, if 3rd Planet, Stars Are Projectors and Life Like Weeds don't tower over most of TMAA (albeit in a way that holds the album together), if the Cockroach thru Trailer Trash run on LCW isn't the highlight to end all highlights, and if the opening run here isn't by far its strongest stretch, I will have no choice but to binge these albums and reconsider

SandwichBubble
April 16th 2019


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Long Drive isn't the virtual definition of a highlight album"

"3rd Planet, Stars Are Projectors and Life Like Weeds don't tower over most of TMAA"

"Cockroach thru Trailer Trash run on LCW isn't the highlight to end all highlights"



That's three strikes bucko 👮

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shit damn okay, but give me the math on TMAA and a cheap bail plz

SandwichBubble
April 16th 2019


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bail is a formal apology in the form of a sputnikmusic.com list

Another perp apprehended, all in a day's work



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ca_sxbu6FoA

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But I've already posted a list today o no

SandwichBubble
April 16th 2019


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're already a criminal, might as well make it worth the jailtime



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ca_sxbu6FoA

                              https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ca_sxbu6FoA

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2019


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I want to see my lawyer please

theBoneyKing
April 18th 2019


24513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, that is that and this is this

Will you tell me what you saw, and I'll tell you what you missed

When the ocean met the sky

You missed when time and life shook hands and said goodbye

When the Earth folded in on itself

And said, "Good luck, for your sake I hope Heaven and Hell

Are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath"

You wasted life, why wouldn't you waste death?


Demon of the Fall
June 6th 2019


34321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This weird-ass album has somehow wormed its way back into my rotation, slowing clawing back at me and refusing to accept the certain death virtually all my past indie 'indiscretions' have succumbed to... This leads me to the very important question of why I've never heard their classics, I thought the time had long since passed, but now I'm looking forward to checking them out.

Any advice on preferable order guys, perhaps I should work backwards from here?

MarsKid
Emeritus
June 6th 2019


21035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well if you've heard this you have indeed heard a classic



In all seriousness, I'd go backwards. They get stranger as they progress forward and incorporate some more pop into their sound, while the latter works are more spacey/indie in their scope.

theBoneyKing
June 6th 2019


24513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I’m just recently getting into them these last several months and I went chronologically but working backwards from this would work.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy