While She Sleeps Brainwashed
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cmaitland421
March 23rd 2015


408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review per usual man. This is the Six was a pretty solid record so I'm looking forward to checking this out.

Toondude10
March 23rd 2015


15186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Coming from a guy who rated Limp Bizkit's "Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water" a 5.



Dude, you really need to listen to some Sputnikcore, cuz some of it is honestly really good.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 23rd 2015


11595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jane Doe has this band beat, but not by as much as you would think imo

Toondude10
March 23rd 2015


15186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sorry bro, but Jane Doe easily destroys this

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 23rd 2015


11595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I said it beats this

Toondude10
March 23rd 2015


15186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

regardless, this is still better than Kendrick Lamar

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 23rd 2015


11595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Idk, I haven't listened to that yet but with that goddamn high average I'm curious

Toondude10
March 23rd 2015


15186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I got curious, and gave it a 2.5 in the process. Then again I'm not a hip-hop person.

lavudu
March 23rd 2015


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good but debut album is so much better

MrMatt767
March 23rd 2015


559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wtf please stop bringing up other random acts, why is K-dot and crown the empire even being mentioned in this thread?



As for the album--rules imo. I really hope this will herald the advent of more (melodic?) hardcore tinged metalcore acts. The reason WSS do what the do well is because they offer the listener an unadulterated wall of well executed sonic beatdown. This album is great not because it re-invents the wheel but because its free of misused synthesizer and cringe-inducing automated clean verses that seem to exist solely because they allow a band to fit snuggly into the confines of contemporary metalcore.That may seem particularly reductionist but I really think that this album is good because it is played by a set of musicians who are talented, energetic and have a clear understanding of what they want their music to sound like--one that isn't obscured by what has become a 'norm' for contemporary metalcore.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 23rd 2015


11595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It does feel markedly more authentic than some metalcore

dbizzles
March 23rd 2015


15197 Comments


Either Metalcore has been super stale in the last 3-5 years or my tastes have just changed immensely. I can't even remember the last time I sat down and listened to a full album.
However, I just checked out Our Legacy and it was not what I expected. I heard one song by these guys from The North Stands for Nothing and thought it was pretty decent, then just kind of forgot about them.
I will be checking out the rest of the album later.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 23rd 2015


11595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The North Stands For Nothing is leagues below either of their full lengths. They matured heavily after it.

Grizzlypyro
March 23rd 2015


272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules and review is spot on.

Flugmorph
March 23rd 2015


34361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so this is no shitty soft metalcore?

Grizzlypyro
March 23rd 2015


272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sure as hell aint

Beardog
March 23rd 2015


5232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

don't really like the vocals, but I like that this doesn't have scenecore production

Flugmorph
March 23rd 2015


34361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

more like every time i die?

in that case i will dig it.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 23rd 2015


11595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't really use ETID as a comparison but closer to them than most of the scenecore bands.

Beardog
March 23rd 2015


5232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production sounds kinda like Machine Head to me...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy