Preoccupations Viet Cong
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MotokoKusanagi
August 26th 2020


3670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haven't heard this in years and it hit the spot real nice. surprised how well i remembered everything

first half of the album is godly

theBoneyKing
August 26th 2020


19762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is very memorable stuff for sure.

Too bad they kinda shit the bed after this one.

MotokoKusanagi
August 26th 2020


3670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i liked their self-titled (Preoccupations) but never heard the one after that. i still remember these guys as "Viet Cong" lol

Pangea
August 26th 2020


5523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah their 2nd is great too. the third is weaker but still had some great songs (disarray is my fav of them)

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

RunOfTheMill
August 26th 2020


4149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New Material is definitely their weakest, but I still quite like it. If you liked their second album, no reason to not like that one, even if superficially

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2020


20573 Comments


This album is all about March of progress and bunker buster, and I’m not even sure about the last half of bunker buster. Not a bad album though

MotokoKusanagi
August 26th 2020


3670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the opening track into "Pointless Experience" is a pretty special 1,2 combo imo

dbizzles
August 27th 2020


14589 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Unpopular opinion, but this is the best out of all women or viet cong or preoccupations or whatever.

Digging: Boldy James and The Alchemist - The Price Of Tea In China

Pangea
August 27th 2020


5523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed, although i'm not sure if that's really an unpopular opinion

dbizzles
August 27th 2020


14589 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think most people would like to have a strong word with us about Public Strain (which is 2nd best : ) )

unclereich
August 27th 2020


8999 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

JOTSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Digging: Wild Man Fischer - An Evening with Wild Man Fischer

unclereich
August 27th 2020


8999 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

JOHNNNNNY ON THE SPOTTTTTTSSSSS





goat reviewer/user. this lp rips

dbizzles
August 27th 2020


14589 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Jamming Public Strain, because it has been a while too. It also owns HARD.

unclereich
August 27th 2020


8999 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh boy what an emotional roller coaster, enjoy

Pangea
August 27th 2020


5523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I think most people would like to have a strong word with us about Public Strain"



those people would like a much stronger word with me when they find out i don't like public strain at all

MillionDead
August 27th 2020


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Public Strain is a little better than this for me. But this whole record jams front to back. However, the run of the last 3 tracks is musical perfection. The electronic intro to March of Progress is one of my favorite moments of all time, too.

dbizzles
August 27th 2020


14589 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This whole thing is perfect, imo. Public Strain took a while to grow on me.

MillionDead
August 27th 2020


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It definitely took a year or more for me to decide that Public Strain is a classic. But I always knew it was very good. And yeah, these guys kept putting out less good material after this release. It's like all the energy was sucked out and the teeth were removed. Preoccupations and New Material are great, with the former containing some worthwhile highs, but they just pale in the face of this. I really only come back to Viet Cong with any consistency.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy