Townes Van Zandt Townes Van Zandt
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wildcardbitchesss
April 19th 2024


12377 Comments


Damn… reading about his life and thinking that it could’ve been me. I’m glad I quit drinking for the most part. I never got to the horrifying levels that I hear about with DT’s, but I’ve had full blown hallucinations and had no idea it was alcohol withdrawal. Truly fucking hellish shit.

I hardly listen to any country… I think I’ll start here.

Above
April 19th 2024


187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is much more folk than country, but as a fellow booze lover it's a good place to start. The man could write songs that make you feel

Wildcardbitchesss
April 19th 2024


12377 Comments


Already way more up my alley then, I can stand a little folk but I’ve rarely ever heard country that didn’t make me wanna violently hurl. Definitely gonna give this record a shot tomorrow

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can dig most of these songs to varying degrees, but the opener is in a class of its own. Godlike songwriting that absolutely warrants the respect I've seen heaped over this guy

Ryus
June 11th 2024


37260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

waitin round to die is The One tbh



opener definitely legendary too

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

couldn't pick a favourite, but I'd like to draw your attention to I'll Be Here in the Morning

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd like to lean into the wind / and tell myself I'm free / but your softest whisper's louder than the highways call to me

Wildcardbitchesss
June 11th 2024


12377 Comments


…yeah some of these songs are hard to sit through

Ryus
June 11th 2024


37260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wtf

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


5974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Wines, I'll Be There In The Morning is one of my favorites, those lyrics...

ReefaJones
June 11th 2024


3691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Also Miss Carousel, Lungs and Quicksilver Dreams of Maria. Love this album so much

Wildcardbitchesss
June 11th 2024


12377 Comments


meant that in a good way ryus, a lot of this is painfully sad

Ryus
June 11th 2024


37260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ah ok ya agreed

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Waiting/Morning/Lungs are probs my runners-up and all great (Miss Carousel v good too, though it has the So Long, Marianne effect where its reaching for something brighter and bolder musically makes me realise how much I prefer the stripped down stuff)

but the lyricism on For the Sake of the Song is something else

Does she really believe that some word of mine could relieve all her pain?

Can't she see that she grieves just because she's been blindly deceived by her shame?

woof

denboy
June 11th 2024


1156 Comments


Many years ago I was chatting with this stranger online and recommending townes van sandt and he came back a couple of hours later and wrote

oof, never cried from reading a wikipedia article before

ReefaJones
June 11th 2024


3691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"meant that in a good way ryus, a lot of this is painfully sad"





I guess the lyrics are somewhat sad and bleak but other than Waiting Around To Die I don't really see this as a sad album. More like a "Life happens" album but he doesn't really lean into the sadness as other artists like Elliott Smith or Sufjan Stevens do. I guess it's all subjective but yeah...

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


4974 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Feel like the sadness is so woven into this thing it doesn't have to be leaned into

ReefaJones
June 11th 2024


3691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This just isn't an album where I get overly emotional when I listen to it. I can put this on whenever and it doesn't get me in a bad mood I guess. Maybe because the "sadness" is expressed through pretty metaphors and beautiful melodies. Don't know. Can't say the same about a band like Joy Division for example.

denboy
June 11th 2024


1156 Comments


the first two bars of waitin around to die is enough to put me in a certain mood

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


4974 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's what I mean Reefa and what makes it so dang good, how tragic this thing can be deep down while mostly avoiding any moribund sadboy mire



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy