Opeth Pale Communion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
February 11th 2019


3988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A beaut indeed.

Egarran
February 11th 2019


9077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Damn, you ruined my clever child abuse metaphor"



You have watered this thing out so much, I didn't even notice the deeper meaning.

Digging: Musmahhu - Reign of the Odious

Eons
February 11th 2019


2138 Comments


I don't care what anybody says this is better than Heritage and Sorceress. Eternal Rains Will Come alone is better than pretty much everything on Sorceress.

Trifolium
February 12th 2019


3988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed about Sorceress. Heritage is my baby though...

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2019


18130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Eternal Rains is one of their best. If Mikael were less indulgent with his vocals and quit the oversinging, this and Sorceress would be even better.

Digging: Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1

BigPleb
February 15th 2019


57501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He oversings on both yeah, should've stuck with his vox from Heritage.

Digging: Faith No More - King for a Day... Fool for a Lifetime

Trifolium
February 15th 2019


3988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed. The oversinging doesn't do him any favours whatsoever.

DominionMM1
February 15th 2019


17815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah but his “oversinging” helps to create actual hooks and makes the songs more accessible (which might be a faux pas with many fans but is totally fine with me)

BigPleb
February 15th 2019


57501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In fact I can't criticise Mikey, it goes against my beliefs.

kalkwiese
February 15th 2019


2708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never thought he was oversinging tbh. What parts in particular do you mean?

BigPleb
February 15th 2019


57501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Start of Moon Above and Voice of Treason have moments of over-zealous singing.

DominionMM1
February 15th 2019


17815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

are you referring to the lifelong throne line?

BigPleb
February 15th 2019


57501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can’t even remember the lyrics, so maybe? Haha.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2019


18130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

The acapella section after the soloing in the middle of Moon Above, the aaahhing with the riffs in Cust of Eternity, other times where there’s singing along with the melodies or riffs, it’s just a bit much. Steven Wilson too, especially on Grace for Drowning and Raven. It’s not that big a deal but it mildly annoys me sometimes when listening.

BigPleb
February 15th 2019


57501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wilson is terrible for it, love a lot of his music though.

Lucman
February 27th 2019


2111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is already a step up for me. Much more vibrant production and some of those classic Opeth guitar tones are back. I don't know if I love it yet but I definitely like it.

Digging: Emily Scott Robinson - Traveling Mercies



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy