Mastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
evilford
February 9th 2023


64363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Bruh i loosen up any more my fucken pants r gonna fall down

Flugmorph
February 9th 2023


34305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good

evilford
February 9th 2023


64363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

H&G is banger city tho

Kompys2000
Emeritus
February 9th 2023


9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Literally no clue how anyone who dislikes this could tolerate more than a third of H&G it's like all the most boring parts of post-CTS mastodon stretched to double album length

CaliggyJack
February 9th 2023


10040 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^this.

IsisScript80
February 9th 2023


1479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

“Literally no clue how anyone who dislikes this could tolerate more than a third of H&G it's like all the most boring parts of post-CTS mastodon stretched to double album length”

The opener to this album (and I seem to be alone here, as I’ve yet to see anyone else express similar) is one of my favourite (and certainly at times my ACTUAL favourite) tracks of theirs ever. But as an album, it’s very patchy and feels non-cohesive. The general abandonment of concepts, that earlier albums up till CtS seemed to need, helped gel each as a unified statement. EoF brought that back somewhat (although I’m not a huge fan of that), but H&G did so to far greater effect, IMO; really heartfelt, and (mostly) great material that’s been their most consistent release since CtS.

Kompys2000
Emeritus
February 9th 2023


9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey I'll def concede to this not having an overabundance of cohesion COUNTERPOINT neither does any other album of theirs bar Leviathan

IsisScript80
February 9th 2023


1479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ Well, their first four were thematically inspired by elements, the last two specifically by awful shit happening to their loved ones. I genuinely feel that even the loose conceptual frameworks of their first records, held each together as a listening experience start-to-finish.

Kompys2000
Emeritus
February 9th 2023


9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You could make a strong case that awful shit happening to loved ones has been this band's primary lyrical concern since Crack the Skye and if this departs from that MO then i don't think it's by all that much

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2023


60519 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Remission is defs cohesive in a meathead one-or-two-gear kinda way

but the appeal of Lev/BM is kinda adjacent to teh janky Mars Volta scrambleramble, so cohesion is a secondary concern as long as the thrills were there. CTS made the fatal error to polish that shit up and take it to epic/majestic places that had not nearly as much business on that silly silly roadmap. take Mastodon seriously and you've missed the boat bby

by which token, H&G is also a meme album yes

Kompys2000
Emeritus
February 9th 2023


9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah lol "cohesion" felt like the wrong word for playing-loud-heavy-songs-loudly-and-heavily but I'm very much in playlist-building mode rn so fair shit to any rebuttals in that vein



Also @isis good shout on Tread Lightly definitely a personal favorite of mine too

Demon of the Fall
February 9th 2023


33916 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

'Literally no clue how anyone who dislikes this could tolerate more than a third of H&G it's like all the most boring parts of post-CTS mastodon stretched to double album length' (2). Word

leave CtS alone tho, they actually delivered on their promises of cohesion and 'polish' that time - lightning in a bottle for the 'don post-Blood Mountain, even if I prefer the previous 'era'

Flugmorph
February 9th 2023


34305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"take Mastodon seriously and you've missed the boat bby"



so you should love this album

evilford
February 10th 2023


64363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like what I like bruh, cope

ChrimzonCanine
February 11th 2023


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

THIIIIS TIIIME



THIS TIME

DominionMM1
March 29th 2023


21116 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

diamond in the witch house is a jam

artiswar
March 29th 2023


13483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I genuinely don't understand why this isn't universally loved

Deathconscious
March 29th 2023


27361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk, just kinda feels like this is when they started phoning it in a little. Still really solid i think.

Sevengill
March 29th 2023


12056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's all disconnected and doesn't have the song-to-song immersion of Leviathan through Crack the Skye. it's a fine album but it comes on the heels of a pretty definitive run of high-concept prog metal classics, and the ambition/scope just isn't there anymore. Mastodon has every right to just make something fun, but I haven't felt the magic since 2009.

artiswar
March 29th 2023


13483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can see that, this definitely has a more impulsive party vibe that I really appreciate



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy