Tool Lateralus
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FowlKrietzsche
February 8th 2024


421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Prying open my brown eye"

goatse origins

Egarran
February 8th 2024


33496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A graceful pagebreak.

Jurtz
February 9th 2024


1146 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

( ͡❛ ͜ʖ ͡❛)

evilford
February 9th 2024


63203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm still here tho

facupm
February 10th 2024


11827 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what a great album

BaselineOOO
February 12th 2024


2421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The way The Grudge gets subtly funky with that weird-ass guitar at 7:49 at the end makes me feel things.

ToSmokMuzyki
February 12th 2024


9955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

the oncoming rush of gastrointestinal distress?

BaselineOOO
February 13th 2024


2421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

looks like ur talking from personal experience there smok. must be tough having a stomach that's more sensitive than your taste in music

ToSmokMuzyki
February 13th 2024


9955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

as much as i detest tool i must confer their fibre content is greater than oats n wheaties

FearThyEvil
February 13th 2024


18226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"The way The Grudge gets subtly funky with that weird-ass guitar at 7:49 at the end makes me feel things."



experiencing that live is also fantastic

LilLioness
February 13th 2024


3348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wonder: do the folks who detest Tool genuinely think they don't sound good or are they protesting Maynard's personality?

Demon of the Fall
February 13th 2024


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

what personality is that?

and nah, I think it's probably because Tool are bad to them, or something (only guessing here!)

LilLioness
February 13th 2024


3348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maynard is abrasive, which def comes through in their lyrics. I personally like it, but then I generally agree with his politics/worldview. I can sorta see how someone who doesn't may not find him endearing.

ToSmokMuzyki
February 13th 2024


9955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

welp all prog tends to be trash from the start n tool ramp it up the wall so

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2024


59459 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Tool are a boring as shit band before Maynard even comes into the picture (from this album onwards, anyway

I dislike a lot of his schtick and don't care for his vocal style, but my least favourite member of Tool will always be Adam Jones by a wide margin. Had some moments on Aenima, but I'd struggle to name a duller metal guitarist from any band

Demon of the Fall
February 13th 2024


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol nice

Yeah hasn’t aged well from a guitar-work perspective. I do remember at least pretending to enjoy this back when I was a teen

Respectfully nonplussed outlook now, or something

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2024


59459 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I think q often of the exchange at very bottom of this page in the Akuma no Uta thread, re. interchangeable stoner riffs being an instant litmus test for whether a band Actually Rocks or not: https://www.sputnikmusic.com/album.php?reviewid=77691&page=4#comments

and no prizes for guessing what the verdict is for this. give half the riffs here to Kyuss, Boris or the Melvins and you'd be landed with something at least halfway kinetic and entertaining. Tool, however, really show themselves through the relative simplicity of their guitarsenal - this sound is just too stuffy for that shit to land

Parabola is a minor exception and quite easily the strongest song here

Ryus
February 13th 2024


36083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album>kyuss discog

dont @ me

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2024


59459 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

ryus does not rock

ToSmokMuzyki
February 13th 2024


9955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

ryus and kyuss sitting in a tree



kay eye ess ess eye en gee



first cums luv



then cums marreeazh



then cums saint jebus riding in a fiery golden chariot



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy