Porcupine Tree In Absentia
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
June 13th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

After work today I'll edit this some more definitely. And yea I hope that happens too fallen!

TheSpaceMan
June 13th 2014


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the production of this album is one of the many arguments on sput that just go in circles



its just gonna be extremely hit or miss with everyone

Mongi123
June 13th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There's nothing wrong with it to me, but it has a little too much polish to some.

Necrotica
June 13th 2014


10631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Honestly I love the production and how layered it sounds

ChoccyPhilly
June 13th 2014


11973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed. It suits all the sounds that Richard makes fit in very well

Digging: Skream - Skream!

Mongi123
June 13th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A song like .3 wouldn't work as well without this type of production to me but to each his own.

Mongi123
June 13th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Made changes both small and big to this, tried to make it better without totally deleting the whole thing. It was hard but it's much better now imo *exhales*

TheSpaceMan
June 13th 2014


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"but it has a little too much polish to some"



I guess you could say I'm on this end of the argument, but its not so much 'too polished' for me as it is too cold. it feels very gilded, like it has potential to be a fruitful and natural sound but was sapped dry by the thin and over-calculated production... however I'm not an idiot and I understand that this was probably intentional to go along the concept, and the fact that enough people swear by it means that it was sort of effective I guess

Mongi123
June 13th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And I'm on the end thinking it's one of the most emotional albums I've heard. Opinions opinions haha

TheSpaceMan
June 14th 2014


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah its cool dude I respect the album, your opinion and your review lmao... and I agree with Heart Attack being one of the best, if not the best on here

Onirium
June 14th 2014


3036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know what people find so magical about this album... It's really far from being my favorite

PT. Deadwing is just so much deeper and more interesting in my opinion



"And I'm on the end thinking it's one of the most emotional albums I've heard"



Opinions indeed. I think Deadwing and Stupid Dream are way more emotional to me, but yeah opinions



This is still awesome though

Mongi123
June 14th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All of their stuff is awesome for the most part. This and Signify are definitely my favorites. However, if all of UTD was like Burning Sky that album would be a hard 5 too haha

fallenbird
June 14th 2014


4492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with Spaceman on the production, I understand it's purpose and it's by no means bad it's just not my taste.

Green Baron
June 14th 2014


24891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ohhhhhhh gravity eyelids

Digging: Sonic Youth - EVOL

ChoccyPhilly
June 14th 2014


11973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think the production works with constructing atmosphere. As Nick pointed out, .3 wouldn't work without it and nor would Strip The Soul. Doesn't feel cold to me in the slightest.



Deadwing is better though. So much more spacious and vast with stuff like Glass Arm Shattering and Mellotron Scratch as well as being more emotional with Start of Something Beautiful. The only thing I'd say this has more of is variety

Mongi123
June 14th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea this has the variety. I love when strip the soul gets totally evil in the last two minutes, freaky shit.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
June 14th 2014


15048 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hate the production they should have used albini or someone who knows how to rock at least

JamieTwort
June 14th 2014


26988 Comments


Sucks.

Mongi123
June 14th 2014


20660 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ugh they've arrived lol

JamieTwort
June 14th 2014


26988 Comments


Haha

It's not that bad really, they've done worse.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy