Deafheaven Sunbather
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
July 8th 2021


28395 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i don't know how anyone couldn't see this shift after their last album tbh... all signs pointed to them heading in this direction

Digging: Lamp of Murmuur - Submission and Slavery

Hawks
July 8th 2021


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yep.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Existence Is Futile

Nikkolae
July 8th 2021


5954 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DH fans: we love how much they blend black metal and shoegaze, you guys are so creative



DH: alright cool cool we're really good at the shoegaze bit so we are gonna make an album of that.



DH fans: wait, no.

Digging: Mol - JORD

hal1ax
July 8th 2021


15665 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i miss the blackgays

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2021


19518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

The Pecan Tree is stunning, probably the band's best.

Digging: Big Red Machine - How Long Do You Think It's Gonna Last?

Hawks
July 16th 2021


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Would prob agreed.

TronaldDump
July 16th 2021


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

T/t is their best from start to finish, The Pecan Tree is their best from start to halfway.

zaruyache
July 17th 2021


24483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No the outro is great too tho D:

Digging: Avast - Mother Culture

TronaldDump
July 17th 2021


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eh the fade out felt like a cop out tbh though, i'll say it's their best from start to almost finish then

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2021


19518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

The guitar solo melodies are amazing in the last few minutes of The Pecan Tree, and I love the dreamy post-rock section earlier in the song; both among the album highlights with the end of Dream House/Irresistable, second half of Please Remember, and the four-minute intro of Vertigo.

TronaldDump
July 18th 2021


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The last few minutes of The Pecan Tree are great, don't get me wrong, but the first half leading up to the post-rock section is vastly better. There's nothing else in their catalog that compares to the intensity of the first half of this song, whereas everything afterwards is pretty much inline with what you'd expect from them.

zaruyache
July 18th 2021


24483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah wished they'd do that again D':

JayEnder
July 21st 2021


11100 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Interesting tidbit of info for anyone who's interested. George mentioned on Jeremy Bolm's podcast that "Lament For Wasps" is the first song they wrote for Infinite Granite, and the one that sounds most like OCHL.

Digging: Spiritbox - Eternal Blue

Ashtiel
July 21st 2021


1260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think i'm most curious about "Neptune Raining Diamonds" (besides having the coolest title on the record) since it's the shortest track clocking in at about 3 minutes.

JayEnder
July 21st 2021


11100 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They can't have a song title that incredibly awesome and not make it a banger, so yeah I'm definitely excited about that one too.



Swear to god if its just an interlude I'll be pissed

Feather
July 21st 2021


7256 Comments


Just giving this a proper listen for the first time and that 4 min Vertigo intro was INCREDIBLE. Pumped for Pecan Tree to arrive.

TronaldDump
July 21st 2021


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It better be Deafheaven's Great Gig in the Sky.

zaruyache
July 22nd 2021


24483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it'll be their short dream pop banger track that conceptually doesn't fit but the up-tempo rhythm rips so nobody minds

Project
July 22nd 2021


5148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the best part is it actually does rain diamonds on Neptune https://www.popularmechanics.com/space/satellites/a32999527/why-neptune-uranus-rain-diamonds/

Digging: CHVRCHES - Screen Violence

Ashtiel
July 27th 2021


1260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In Blur (track 2) will be out on August 4th.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy