The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
premmisseth
August 12th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Your post was basically bitching about how this could have a 4.1 rating so you are not allowed to get on that horse buddy. You obviously didn't respect the opinions of those who had rated it highly."



Look sir, let me explain how this went.. I stumbled upon new The National album, gave it a few listens and was quite disappointed cause I was expecting a lot more of it. Then I went to look it up on sputnik what people think of it and was surprised over the score which I though it's a little too far fetched. So my post was written as it was written in this same affect of surprise nor was i intentionally attacking fans of the band and disrespecting them. After that I was beyond emotional attachment to it so yeah it's still isn't the same of being surprised or being offended. If so, I could also go over the top saying MY taste of music is offended with this score but I didn't go that road or did I..

premmisseth
August 12th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Album is very good, sadly a couple of songs didn't caught my attention.Including sea of love, so is a little bit least interesting than their other 3 masterpieces"



And this is exactly what the objective rating is not. You cannot give the album 4,5 score and simultaneously saying it has a couple of fillers. This can be given only from a person who is diehard fan of the band and it takes the credibility of the overall score.

And face it people, The National is the band with a huge fan base which is also shown in a big number of votes here and many of them giving it high score just because they are The National.

benkim
August 12th 2013


3240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Again, there you go on about someone's personal rating. Please stop.

RadicalEd
August 12th 2013


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"And this is exactly what the objective rating is not. You cannot give the album 4,5 score and

simultaneously saying it has a couple of fillers. This can be given only from a person who is

diehard

fan of the band and it takes the credibility of the overall score.

And face it people, The National is the band with a huge fan base which is also shown in a big

number

of votes here and many of them giving it high score just because they are The National."



You're so dumb.



Objective. Rating. Does. Not. Exist. When. It. Comes. To. Art.



No it does not matter how many pseudointelligent elitist pricks told you otherwise. Art and with it

Music will always be subjective to a huge extent.



You know i could go on a 3 page long tangent why you're not even entitled to rate this album because

you gave Chuckles and Mr. Squeezy the same rating but I won't because I realize that it all comes

down to personal taste in the end.

Digging: Ryo Fukui - Mellow Dream

jefflebowski
August 12th 2013


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i remember when people used to talk about the music in album threads

BigPleb
August 12th 2013


54041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

MEH

RadicalEd
August 12th 2013


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i remember when people used to talk about the music in album threads



no you don't. That mystical time period never even existed.

jefflebowski
August 12th 2013


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn those rose-tinted glasses

premmisseth
August 12th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"You're so dumb.



Objective. Rating. Does. Not. Exist. When. It. Comes. To. Art.



No it does not matter how many pseudointelligent elitist pricks told you otherwise. Art and with it

Music will always be subjective to a huge extent."



I don't know who's dumber you or me, cause I can see you are having problems with functional illiteracy. I SAID subjective part has a role in it, but as in all art, every branch has it's fundamental rules on which you can estimate the quality of it. Human beeing had always had the ability to distinct the good and the bad in art, but the boundary between them was always blured and left for a subjective opinion. This is what you were talking about and me agreeing on it, it's just you don't see it.

RadicalEd
August 12th 2013


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"damn those rose-tinted glasses"



Btw. new causa sui is amazing.



"I don't know who's dumber you or me, cause I can see you are having problems with functional illiteracy. I SAID subjective part has a huge role in it, but as in all art, every branch has it's fundamental rules on which you can estimate the quality of it. Human beeing had always had the ability to distinct the good and the bad in art, but the boundary between them was always blured and left for a subjective opinion. This is what you were talking about and me agreeing on it, it's just you don't see it."



How do you make statements like "objective rating this is not" based on this, it does not fit together.

premmisseth
August 12th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Eugh, it's just his opinion on the album didn't fit his rating and by that it was a bit biased, lacking the objectivity on the score alone.



premmisseth
August 12th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Meanwhile I've rated every song individually and came up with the average sum of 2,81 which it should make it 3 rather then 2,5. Hope everyone is happy while I'll change it to 3, for peace sake cause this went personal too far.

jefflebowski
August 12th 2013


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed abut the new causa sui, i'm this close to getting the vinyl direct from the label 'causr the

cover art/packaging is even better than the album if that's possible

jefflebowski
August 12th 2013


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'Meanwhile I've rated every song individually and came up with the average sum of 2,81 which it should make it 3 rather then 2,5'



i always thought this was a horrible way of rating albums but each to his own i guess

PunchforPunch
August 12th 2013


6277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey c'mon lets talk about the muzak!

jefflebowski
August 12th 2013


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i like the notes he sings and some of the words too

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
August 12th 2013


14983 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

sux

PunchforPunch
August 12th 2013


6277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i love the calming sound of the guitar and the sleepy vocals

jefflebowski
August 12th 2013


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i like the bits where the drummer hits the drums with his drum hitting sticks

premmisseth
August 12th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"i always thought this was a horrible way of rating albums but each to his own i guess"



Well yea, it's not that I don't agree on this, just wanted to see if there's some deviation from my previous rating and it's just enough to make some kind of compromise cause I feel bad now, offending so many fellow sputnikers with my way of expressing thoughts.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy