The Venetia Fair Every Sick, Disgusting Thought...
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


not sure if features automatically help your chance as contrib. I mean i'd like to think if all i reviewed was new releases I'd have gotten some more features too! :P

i don't mean that as an insult by the way...but some people got promoted that don't even review many new releases.

atrink
February 28th 2013


2855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I always see it as if you review new releases you're contributing to the site more than if you're writing a review on an album that came out 5 years ago that already has 2 reviews. That's just my view on it

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


@atrink

yeah but what about an album that came out in like the 80's or some shit that doesn't have any reviews yet? lol. agreed for the most part unless it's an album that doesn't have a review yet that's a pretty good contribution too. all i'm saying is you should write what you're passionate about and do it because you enjoy it. don't just review only new releases hoping you'll get contrib ;) but either way you have a good chance keep up the good work!

atrink
February 28th 2013


2855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've already reviewed every emery album and most of the mewithoutyou ones. What else am i supposed to

review besides new stuff? ;) plus the only album i reviewed this year that I didn't like was that

stupid shone album.. and silverstein lol



But i know what you're saying. I just didn't listen to much new music last year while i was on a

little hiatus from this site so i'm making up for that by listening to all the new stuff i can

klap
Emeritus
February 28th 2013


12407 Comments


more reviews from you pleases me

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


@atrink

oh i didn't realize you did all of emery and mewithoutyou's discog. that's cool.

idk i guess i'm weird most new releases underwhelm me i'm still discovering so much great music from the 70's, 80's and 90's.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


congratz on another feature though bro!

honestly if you wanna just keep reviewing new releases you should you're good ad it. i was just saying that if you wanted to review some older releases as well i don't think it would hurt your chances as contrib that's all i was getting at.

atrink
February 28th 2013


2855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks klap.



@atari yeah I did all of emery. My first review on this site was In Shallow Seas We Sail.. That album/review is the reason i joined sputnik





Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


right on.

the only discog i've done so far is flogging molly. I have a few discog's i'm about halfway through though (anthrax, the ataris, a few others)

atrink
February 28th 2013


2855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

As soon as i review mewithoutyou's first review i've got them all. I can't say i've ever heard of the ataris. is that where you got your name? lol

WatchItExplode
February 28th 2013


10416 Comments


this sounds like it's right up my alley

atrink
February 28th 2013


2855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well then check it out yo. I'm not sure if it's streaming anywhere, but it's pretty easy to find a download link

Sirob
February 28th 2013


2653 Comments


This band is so good cant wait to listen to this. Caught a bit of their set on warped tour a couple years ago, absolutely crazy

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


"I can't say i've ever even heard of the ataris"

sigh

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


if you have a sec atrink i'll tell you some of my favorite ataris songs and you should check them out

atrink
February 28th 2013


2855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah. If you give me a few i'll check them out. I've got some time tonight i think

cryptside
February 28th 2013


2406 Comments


Really great review, pos'd. This sounds like it would be something I'm really interested in, so I'm excited to check it out. Is this or their first album better in your estimation?

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


you've probably heard the atari's cover of boys of summer atrink. it was overplayed to be honest.

cryptside
February 28th 2013


2406 Comments


^true; wayyyyyyyyyy overplayed lol. it's a good band though. catchy to say the least.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2013


27898 Comments


their older stuff isn't nearly as poppy or "catchy". their first release was actually punk with like all the songs being under 2 minutes. they basically sold out on so long, astoria but it's still a catchy, meaningful album IMO.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy