Santana Abraxas
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
twlichty
May 9th 2012


4489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album kicks ass!

random
July 25th 2012


2867 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great stuff.

Smithsonian
October 2nd 2012


120 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is one of my first vinyl records such good memories

YankeeDudel
October 2nd 2012


9342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

carlos fuckin rips

menawati
October 2nd 2012


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

king carlos, great stuff

ZedO
October 2nd 2012


1096 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

indeed....

WhiteNoise
October 15th 2012


3720 Comments


Finally got around to listening to my first Santana album...this one.

I love it! The Guitar tones, the percussion, it just all jams like a mother fucker.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 8th 2013


12017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album and a great review Hernan. I still wonder why Carlos doesn't get more attention in here.

Digging: Winter?s Verge - The Ballad of James Tig

SgtPepper
Emeritus
May 8th 2013


4510 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks, manosg. Yeah, he's got great stuff, but I think most people here hold him high regards. I've been jamming his first album so much lately.



I cannot get this song out of my head. I love the african vibes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAEcbNzLXiM

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 8th 2013


12017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, Jingo is an amazing tune. I've been jamming his third album the last days which is probably my favorite.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 8th 2013


12017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Which is the first?

MO
May 11th 2013


23049 Comments


ok this rules

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2013


12017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Try Santana III, MetallicOpeth. To me it's even better!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2013


12017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As much as I love Santana, Peter Green's version (the original one) is better. Check out this video for proof.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRu7Pt42x6Y

Totengott
October 11th 2014


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This rules so much.

Fozzie
December 19th 2014


506 Comments


Arguably Santana's most famous record, though it's not their best. I would even put Santana III over this for their Latin-rock period.

If you haven't heard Santana before, this record is a mixture of styles, blending Latin-rock, jazz, samba, blues rock, and psychedelic rock. Most Santana songs feature few vocals and are largely instrumental, the exception here being the 2 tracks solely written by Gregg Rolie.

The album is very relaxing, with each song flowing into the next. Have no fear though, the songwriting is very creative with plenty of variation to keep the songs exciting.

Carlos' solo composition 'Samba Pa Ti' has a gorgeous melody to it. Definitely one of the top tracks on the album, but it has nothing on 'Song of the Wind' which is his crowning achievement as a guitarist. The only thing that pisses me off is Rolie's organs on this track which were not needed.

The appreciation for the rhythm section cannot be ignored on any Santana release. Carabello and Areas are superb on 'Se A Cabo' and Michael Shrieve tears it up on Incident at Neshabur. The bass is great, but much better on the later albums.

This is a great starting point for someone looking at this genre. I personally recommend picking up Santana III first and then getting Caravanserai, which is the best album Santana ever released.

smaugman
February 3rd 2015


5158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the main riff on "hope you're feeling better" is extremely similar to large parts of "into the fire" by deep purple

MikeC26
February 4th 2015


3381 Comments


Love this record. The guitar phrasing and tone is top-notch.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 4th 2015


12017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Easily. You can instantly understand it's Santana.

Totengott
February 4th 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed, I love this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy