Pink Floyd The Wall — Immersion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


7503 Comments


I just started using Sputnik, and I was previously reviewing music for quite awhile using Tumblr.com, but I didn't have much success getting my opinions out there. I knew nothing about how this site worked when I made my profile, as I had only browsed it prior to this. So I'm really sorry for posting seven reviews in a row, they where all reviews that I had previously wirrten on tumblr., and I just wanted to post them so I could get them out there quick and get some stuff on my profile, and get my account started up quick. I had no idea it was a bad thing so I'm really sorry about that. Please forgive the newbie, I have harmless intentions, and didn't mean to cause any problems."

Fair enough mate - it's understandable why one would make that mistake. Just remember to slow down a little next time =) May have been a bit harsh to you back there, but welcome to the site! Keep honing at your writing; looking forward to hear more from you soon (just not seven times at once ;)).

Parallels
April 9th 2012


8858 Comments


I'm not much of a Pink Floyd fan, but I do enjoy Animals more than The Wall.

Palimpsest
April 9th 2012


77 Comments


That's a shitload of material. Anyone who could listen to all of that is maybe a little too into Pink Floyd.

breakingthefragile
April 10th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Palimpsest I disagree, I think that anyone who would listen to this entire box set in ONE SITTING is maybe a little too into Pink Floyd.

tarkus
April 10th 2012


5567 Comments


"The original set of songs itself still holds up as the quintessential double-album of progressive rock"

idk if this has been brought up yet but i stopped reading after this sentence because i was so disgusted

breakingthefragile
April 10th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@tarkus Well that's unfortunate. I'd love to get into a discussion with you about this sort of thing, but I can't if you haven't read my opinion. Just out of curiosity though, what would be considered the quintessential double-album of progressive rock in your book?

tarkus
April 10th 2012


5567 Comments


tough choice honestly because most prog double albums are pretty bloated and overdone

yes' tales from topographic oceans probably

and i read the rest of your review after that comment

breakingthefragile
April 10th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@tarkus To be perfectly honest, I've always seen Tales as a bit bloated and overdone. I think its great, but it's a hit and miss for me. With each song taking up an entire side, I found it very difficult to grasp, and I still find it hard to get into in the other times I've listened to it. Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against long compositions, but the reason I'm bringing the album's accessibility to the casual listen into question, is because I've always been on the fence on whether or not I'm actually really enjoying the songs on TFTO while I'm listening to them, or just simply marveling at their artistic value. I believe there is a huge difference between those two, and if it's not recognized, it that can lead to people overrating and underrating albums. So I'm getting the impression from your comment that you don't like The Wall very much. lol. Care to share?

tarkus
April 10th 2012


5567 Comments


tales is completely bloated but there isnt really anything that tops it imo

the wall i used to not get it when i was a little kid then i got into it cos it was cool with some friends and now i dont really like it, mainly because as you said theres a difference between actually enjoying or marveling at the artistic value here, (lyrics, concept that stuff), when in reality its really a few songs that are actual songs and a bunch of segues. i understand that when it was released it was a huge deal and 'revolutionary' because of concept and how its structured, but when you look at it from an enjoyment standpoint, theres good stuff like comfortably numb, run like hell, abitw trilogy. and im not like one of those people who are just like "no songs cant be good cant be on the radio w/e"

i rather like vera though

breakingthefragile
April 10th 2012


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@tarkus It might just be my personal preference, but I really find the melancholy tone appealing and transcendent. The Majority of progressive bands went for fantasy based imagery, and Pink Floyd managed to stay down to earth and isolated in their themes while being completely in outer space in their music in my opinion. The concept's ability to be darkly hopeless and not vulnerable (a bit disturbing at times) appeals to my post-generation x taste for music with even the slightest hint of angst. lol. I still find myself enjoying its faintly played grooves and its vastly bleak scale. I call it the quintessential double album of progressive rock because I feel that because of this relatable current running through it, that it has a way of fitting in any decade while still being a reminder of distant times, but without a time stamp firmly on its bricks. It's also in my opinion the most memorable of progressive double albums, and that is mostly because of the singles, but not because of the singles radio play. Though, the amount of mainstream attention this did and still does get does factually show its legacy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy