Ulver Blood Inside
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
August 31st 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahaha we're so mean, poor Flowers Of Evil. It isn't bad at all, but it's not living up to their potential. Plus they did something along those lines already.

But hey, everything on this one r u l e s. Totally rules.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2020


60955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I deadlift to Your Call bby

Trifolium
August 31st 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Omg yes, good pick.

It's soooooo good to hear versatile Garm again! He's so passionate on this one compared to Flowers! His falsetto omg, one of the reasons why I love Arcturus' The Sham Mirrors so much. Great vocalist, probably one of my faves now that I think about it actually.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2020


60955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

So much passion, but so smooth, so urgent and so many melodies and inflections that suddenly go the opposite way from what you'd expect and sound so good ugh. Sometimes his style is too slick for its own good imo, but it's perfect for this

Trifolium
August 31st 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Exactly. Also really love the choirs they make of his voice. And urgent is the perfect term. That 'HOSPITAL' shout. Ooof. And his voice is so full. Warm. Yeah I really like him here. But his performance on Themes for instance is also golden to me. How he sings way too low for his reach, offset to his falsetto. Haha. Perfectly bombastic and diverse. And he isn't afraid of making it sound ugly or over the top/over the edge. And then his subdued Shadows approach. (Oh and that one track with that one band, what's its name, A Life All Mine...)

Christmas and the 1-2 punch of Your Call-Operator are incredible. The Truth. Dressed In Black. Blinded By Blood. Hmmmmmmmm. Great album.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2020


60955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Heh yeah, every HOSPITAL or AMBULANCE line is a winner, but fuck me every line he delivers in Blinded By Blood is on another level. Whole first 4 stretch is ridiculous, but the continuity between the last three hnng so good.

I like how his Shadows performance sometimes feels emotional and sometimes feels as though he's subtly commentating over that album's atmosphere. Shit be subtle

Trifolium
August 31st 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For sure! Time and time again I come to the conclusion that flow is such an important thing in albums for me. Doesn't matter whether it's a long album or a short album, when there's flow the ultimate cliché of 'being more than the sum of its parts' wins me over big time. This album has it.

To me most of their albums do. They're cohesive in a way. Put together in a certain way. I'm a huge sucker for that.

And a big yes to ''every line he delivers in Blinded By Blood is on another level'' and your Shadows comment. Shadows is so good man. Creates this deliciously melancholy, introspective and quiet mood.

Pangea
August 31st 2020


10564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i agree trif. flow is really important for me too. i want an album to work like a cohesive experience. everything should fit together basically



and yeah i haven't had any flow issues with ulver

Trifolium
August 31st 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Exactly. It even goes as far that it excuses certain missteps quality wise for me. There could be some tracks that aren't necessarily my thing but really work to create this sense of flow. Some tracks are better in context of their neighbours in a well constructed album.

KingdomOfTyrant
September 6th 2020


800 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Truth is just amazing

budgie
September 6th 2020


36505 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

blinded by blood & IT IS NOT SOUND are the winners here!

JasonCarne
September 7th 2020


1184 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I wish they would get back to doing things as creative as this album.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2020


60955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

From what I've read (c.2007) they weren't 100% proud of this and they're so obviously comfortable in their current sound (from Messe on - not just the pop stuff) that i doubt they will

Shame, they haven't topped it since

DDDeftoneDDD
September 7th 2020


22440 Comments


Deep Insiiiiide
I'm on my own and I can't see straight!


budgie
September 7th 2020


36505 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah johnny

ignoring wars of the roses they havent released material i really gave a shit about since 2000 lol.

Trifolium
September 7th 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This only has five pages omg that is just wrong.

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
September 14th 2020


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is always such a cool listen. ngl tho, pretty inconsistent in the second half after that impeccable first four song run. Your Call and In the Red are the best tracks after the first four.

I just tried listening in this order which made for a great experience, ending with one of their best, Blinded by Blood: easily in my top 5 favorite Ulver songs, very alien and supernatural almost.

1. Your Call

2. In the Red

3. It is Not Sound

4. The Truth

5. Dressed in Black

6. For the Love of God

7. Christmas

8. Blinded By Blood

Operator makes me anxious lol so I dropped it.

Trifolium
September 15th 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahaha yeah Operator is so intense. Love it with a passion though!

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
September 15th 2020


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it's a good song; I really like the bass line, especially at the end.

Trifolium
September 15th 2020


39299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very anxious yes, for sure! This album goes from that mega high level of loudness to quiet whispers. So dynamic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy