Alcest Les Voyages De L'Âme
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dedex
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2022


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Ten years? Fucking hell.

Trifolium
January 7th 2022


39247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

We're getting old.

garas
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2022


8086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"We're getting old" [2]

Still best Alcest, yeahhh!

kalkwiese
January 7th 2022


10472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah. But it's gud

It has its fair share of dragging imo

ChrimzonCanine
January 8th 2022


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn’t know they were into drag.



Guess the more you know

Egarran
January 9th 2022


34254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sometimes you have to not click the submit button

theBoneyKing
January 9th 2022


24512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one is really great (mostly due to two massive highlights in “Autre temps” and “Faiseurs de mondes”) but it’s easily the Alcest album I go back to least (well, aside from Spiritual Instinct).

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2022


5973 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah, this is pretty clearly their weakest in my opinion (but still quite solid)

Pangea
January 9th 2022


10554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

maybe their weakest lp but uh yeah still a 4

kalkwiese
January 9th 2022


10472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, my opinion exactly.

There is still lots of stuff here I enjoy a lot. The second track is a damn journey, huge!

Not so crazy about Beings of Light and the t/t

Pangea
January 9th 2022


10554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

t/t is one of my favourite songs ever haha

Pangea
January 9th 2022


10554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh no wait i confused autre temps with the t/t fo some reason



the t/t is nice though!

kalkwiese
January 9th 2022


10472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I always felt weird for not getting that one tbh

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
January 9th 2022


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

SI is clearly their worst, and I like this more than Shelter.

Pretty much tied with Souvenirs for 3rd best.

theBoneyKing
January 9th 2022


24512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spiritual Instinct is the weakest overall yeah. I think this is “better” technically than Shelter (which is what I assume you mean by Deliverance) but I find that album more worthwhile for being distinct as their only full-on Shoegaze album, whereas this one feels more like a less interesting version of Ecailles to me.

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
January 9th 2022


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Whoops, guess Delivrance is what I consider to be the standout on Shelter, since I unconsciously mistook the song name for the album haha

Alcest is one of the most accessible and soft "metal" bands who play this kind of music, and I think there's plenty of shoegaze, post-rock, and other styles like those on their others that Shelter isn't as unique as it might first seem.

Shelter also gets a samey as it goes on, since those dynamics from the previous three and Kodama are missing. Don't get me wrong tho, it's still an excellent album.

This one refines their songwriting in a way and expands their sound, even if it's one of their less consistent as a whole, but I think it deserves better than just being dubbed a "less interesting Ecailles."

theBoneyKing
January 9th 2022


24512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not saying Shelter is that unique in the grand scheme of things, more just unique in their discography; that said I do think it has enough of that Alcest touch that it scratches the same itch while still being different enough from their other stuff.

And no, this isn’t *just* a less interesting Ecailles, but I don’t think it has quite enough of a different vibe to make me want to go for this over that most of the time, unless I really want to hear the highlights here. In contrast, all their other albums have a pretty distinct feel to them to me (aside again from Spiritual Instinct kinda feeling like a lesser Kodama, but without even the highlights this has).

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
January 9th 2022


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I'm pretty much on the same page as you. Voyages is their least well-flowing as an album, and the momentum stalls in the middle before picking back up with Faiseurs, but the highlights like that one and the first two songs are so incredible that it almost doesn't matter.

SI doesn't sound much like Kodama to me tho, it's considerably heavier and more metallic while also having simpler, mainstream song structures in the first half of the album. Maybe the second half a bit, which is a noticeable improvement over the first for me.

kalkwiese
January 9th 2022


10472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But guys, Protection is pretty awesome

Pangea
January 9th 2022


10554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

protection does rule. that riff always gets me going



really love spiritual instinct in general, outside of sapphire. lile des morts & t/t are top tier alcest



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy