Dream Theater A Dramatic Turn of Events
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7503 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Has always been their biggest turnoff, as if LaBrie's voice alone doesn't work the nerves enough already.



Word. Word. Word. Labrie is decent for the most part I guess, but sometimes I just want to wince at his vocal performances. Not to mention there are those occasional ill-timed imitations of both Dave Mustaine and James Hetfield of his.



Oh, and to be fair, it is mostly Petrucci that does all the lyrical mangling.

Nagrarok
September 22nd 2011


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I do realize the lyrics mostly aren't his fault, but well, HE sings them.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7503 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hahahaha yeah he really could have stood up and said "No way Petrucci man I'm not singing that shit" XD



By not doing anything major about them, I guess that effectively makes him equally culpable.

iFghtffyrdmns
September 22nd 2011


7047 Comments


"I wanted to use the line "A dramatic turd of events" as the summary. But that wouldn't be very professional, would it?"

no, that would have been perfectly professional.

ILJ
September 22nd 2011


6941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I mostly agree with this. I was highly disappointed with this album. I think maybe they should have just taken that five year hiatus that Portnoy wanted them to. Not for Portnoy, but so they would have more time to actually generate fresh ideas.

Tyrael
September 22nd 2011


21083 Comments


Omg first Xeno's Opeth review and now this :/
At least your review actually reads like you know what you're talking about so yeah...

Pos.

Digging: Summoning - With Doom We Come

BigHans
September 22nd 2011


28558 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

LIVE ANOTHER DAY



CLIMB A LITTLE HIGHER



FIND ANOTHER REASON TO STAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY



wait, wrong album

TheNotrap
September 22nd 2011


8641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Hahaha

Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

zxlkho
September 22nd 2011


3491 Comments


This is a fantastic review. Exactly how I feel about this album.

yourmother1234
September 22nd 2011


3 Comments


band is faggoty

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 22nd 2011


25150 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

review is perfect

Digging: Belle and Sebastian - How To Solve Our Human Problems Pt. 1

FearThyEvil
September 22nd 2011


15379 Comments


Is this actually worth checking out?

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


55385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sure

Digging: Dad Thighs - The Ghosts That I Fear

ShinXetsu
September 22nd 2011


605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

If you like Dream Theater you're still gonna like the album, it's just aside from Breaking All Illusions the material is pretty good but never above that.

tiesthatbind
September 22nd 2011


7420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They should put out an groove metal album, that would be cool.


Hans, you might like Train of Thought if you haven't heard that one. It's their heaviest, most riff-based album (still really wanky though).



Good review Irving.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7503 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I influenced your review! My life is complete XD



Haha I love you Pizz; most adorable thing ever XD

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7503 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for all the kind words guys - much appreciated!



Also I haven't got nearly as many troll neg votes as I expected hahahah (famous last words).

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011


13480 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

14 of 15 thought this review was well written



Pretty good stats methinks!



Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


55385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All of their albums post Metropolis Pt. 2 are too wanky

Jethro42
September 22nd 2011


15141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent review of what I managed to understand (not exactly my English level). As for me, plenty of rich words/phrases, really. I'm gonna google translate it later. Critique déjà positivée.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy