Thrice Major/Minor
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pikazilla
August 14th 2019


11284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

M/M is bloody fantastic, but it's not in the same league as Vheissu, yes.

StrizzMatik
August 17th 2019


3912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Quality across the board has fallen consistently since Beggars, really. They haven't put out anything truly bad, but Palms was really lackluster at best and not a good sign

Larkinhill
August 17th 2019


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

MM > Beggars, so your comment doesn’t make sense to me. To Be Everywhere is solid, but their worst since their early days. Palms is so boring. Basically, quality has fallen off post hiatus. Really hope they can pick it back up again.

Ecnalzen
August 18th 2019


8819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel the same. It has been a bit of a downhill slide since Beggars, but I also don't think any one of those releases was a bad release. 3 is my lowest Thrice rating and I hope that doesn't change anytime soon.



Palms is probably my first true 'disappointment from the band.

StrizzMatik
August 18th 2019


3912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Beggars was better than M/M. M/M takes the ideas from Beggars and tries to put an alt. rock spin on it and does a good job of it, but the songwriting is def weaker overall imo

Emim
August 18th 2019


28470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their career is a hefty bell curve

Larkinhill
August 18th 2019


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I completely disagree re M/M and Beggars but no big deal. They’re both amazing albums. Beggars has some of their best songs like Wood and Wire, Circles, In Exile, The Weight (my favorite on the album). But it also has some kinda meh/skippable tracks for me, while M/M has none. I love every song on it. That’s pretty rare for me.

Ecnalzen
August 18th 2019


8819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am the opposite, ha. Beggars is awesome straight thru but this has a couple clunkers to me, specifically Blur.

Emim
August 18th 2019


28470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like both decently well (could probably bump this up to a 4) but their latest two were pretty disappointing.

Larkinhill
August 18th 2019


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Blur and Listen Through Me are my least favorites here but still very good imo.

Ecnalzen
August 18th 2019


8819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked Everywhere/Nowhere, but it has a couple bad songs on it. Palms has a few really good songs, but for the most part, I don't really come back to it much.



I love Listen Thru Me (we may have had this convo before, Larkin). I have grown to like it more lately, but I used think Anthology was another weak track here. Blur is always a skipable track for me, but I will actually listen to Anthology now and enjoy it for the most part.



I don't think Cataracts or Treading Paper are bad songs, but I always forget what they sound like until I listen to them, so I guess I don't find them super memorable, even tho I still like them.

Larkinhill
August 18th 2019


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I liked Everywhere/Nowhere, but it has a couple bad songs on it. Palms has a few really good songs, but for the most part, I don't really come back to it much.



Same here.



But man, I think Anthology and Treading Paper are two of the best here. Cataracts less so, but I still absolutely love it. Promises, Disarmed, Words in the Water, Call it in the AIr, Anthology and Treading Paper are my favorites here. Most of the album ha.

Pikazilla
August 18th 2019


11284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The last two Thrice albums are easily their worst. No contest there.

LelandAB
August 19th 2019


634 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Man, Cataracts is so damn good, and Treading Paper is a masterpiece.

DerElefant
August 19th 2019


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Blinded is my favorite on this one. Such an atmospheric, subtle piece of art.





Blur ist great as well. They are doing good with short, powerful songs in general.



The Messenger of the alchemy index is a beast.

dedex
March 6th 2020


3547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

These last 4 songs, it's some tasty shit.

Digging: Nuvolascura - As We Suffer From Memory and Imagination

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2020


26495 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listen Through Me is one of the most boring songs Thrice ever wrote inc. Palms

but those other 3...hmmhmmhmmm

Digging: Boris - NO

dedex
March 6th 2020


3547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

:sad:

If you put these 4 songs into an EP I'll slap a 4.5 on it as fast as a jaguar

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2020


26495 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, for cert

always thought Treading Paper was this album's sleeper - throw that into the picture and you've got a tasty treat

dedex
March 6th 2020


3547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh it's a very cool track, but I'd put it a tad below the final 4

it's better than the rest of the record tho



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy