Aphex Twin Drukqs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Emeritus
March 24th 2024


26531 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

saw2 took me the longest to get into but it’s comfortably in my favorites of his now.



the only one I really don’t care for is rdj album.

parksungjoon
March 24th 2024


47234 Comments


in my heart and brain probably the number one thing that made me fall in love with a lot of the old rephlex and warp classics is the atmosphere. shit just sounds like nothing else and it always takes me away and takes me back

but for some reason saw2 despite being the most ambient of them all has points where it doesnt really sound like that, it sometimes sounds like somebody else's take on atmosphere or film score or whatever. and its not bad, in fact thats probably helped more people get into it who otherwise dont get much out of most of dick dj's material

idk

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i can relate to that take



it also kinda hops out of the """IDM""" lane and into straight-ambient, but then my mind flips into ambient mode and starts making unfair comparisons but i just want to be listening to eno or stars of the lid or roach or idk something lusher??? SAW2 feels cold and weird in a way i do not yet like HOWEVER i think it could grow to love its just not a space i often want to place myself in.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2024


61302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

SAW2 occupies a pretty distinctive middle ground between new age and dark ambient without really belonging to either, but isn't exactly my go-to for the genre. could see that changing one day maybe, but won't be for a while. definitely prefer it to ICBYD though, that's easily my least fave aphex LP despite packing a couple of zingers

parksungjoon
March 24th 2024


47234 Comments


i remember there being a track or two that almost does sound like eno but maybe we're thinking of different eno works or different aspects of his sound

i also dont mind ambient being cold, i like cluster and zeit and all that

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think my reference points for ambient are still too narrow tbh, ive checked alot of the big bois but in the happy lane, less in the dark ambient sphere. though i mean i do enjoy the caretaker and Oneohtrix Point Never, but they feel like they are going for very different things c.f. the "get lost in the l-o-n-g endlessness" vibe that SAW2 feels like it is.

parksungjoon
March 24th 2024


47234 Comments


maybe get some references that arent meme artists from 2009+

parksungjoon
March 24th 2024


47234 Comments


maybe that was meaner than it hsould have been but

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

man im just swimming around why you gotta be like that

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cries in tapedeck

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The more I listen the more I’m convinced this is THE album

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ziggomatic 17 gaaaah

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Then nanou2 aaaahgaaaah

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Somebody gaaah with me

Confessed2005
April 3rd 2024


5735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best Aphex.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you for gaaah-ing with me

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just has so much personality.



Gahhh.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

April 14th too lol not intentional but

Rawmeeth38
April 14th 2024


2737 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gwarek2 auuiggaahhhhhhh 😫😫😫

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2024


10319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you for your gahhh.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy