Veliotis/Sugimoto/Kinoshita/Unami Quartet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2014


27497 Comments


"they are comparable because they are both rymcore avant-teen."

yeah basically. there seems to be one-to-one ratio of people who like this and people who like that but i find one way
more compelling. i wouldn't be surprised if the lineage of "onkyo" or whatever sort of originated in feldman's works / if
musicians like sugimoto took inspiration from him. fair enough though, not really a comparison (although clearly
"superminimal" is not a formal genre i'm assigning to this piece, it's a description which is inarguably correct, unless i'm
misunderstanding "super" or "minimal")

i feel silly sometimes for my earlier vitriol toward this album but actually listening to it just hardens me more. it's no good

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2014


3983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

interesting, I honestly think there's some decided similarities between (some!) onkyo and the first wave of post-rock (o.k basically just ls and spiderland) but i can't really see the feldman in it, although i definitely can in a lot of contemporary free improvisation. and i hate to be an ornery dickhead but String Quartet No. 2 isn't really minimal? And Quartet kinda functions as an inquiry to minimalism and it lacks minimalistic structure. I'll begrudingly concede that Music for 4 stringed instruments is minimal but aceghd and improv. have heaaaps going on



i go through fazes with string quartet where sometimes i love it and sometimes i'm like 'ho-hum' hmm

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2014


3983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ethy why are you speaking some strange Scandinavian sub-dialect is all well

ethos
September 9th 2014


1894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

( 2!) (3!) (3.). Glitched memm d37 Off unt il (+ed-t). あなたの人�"�を更新「░▒▓新しい�� �ラックスライフ▓▒░」

▣世界から解�"�され▣ m. O. I. Sss

Ion

2:05 1.

T

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
November 24th 2014


3983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i am going to write erotic fiction about my relationship with this album

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
May 8th 2015


3983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

music 4 4 stringed instruments might have been the best track here all along whoops

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2016


3983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Toad you moth*rfucker

treeqt.
June 10th 2016


16970 Comments


nice joke i rate nice out of nice

hal1ax
June 10th 2016


15775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gifted

Cygnatti
June 10th 2016


36037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

deadzone

TVC15
June 29th 2016


11372 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Am I listening to the same thing as you guys?!

Ryus
June 29th 2016


36936 Comments


yes

Cygnatti
June 29th 2016


36037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2016


3983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

depends how loud you're playing it i guess

hal1ax
June 29th 2016


15775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Linkinparkforthewin

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2016


3983 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

O.K. there's a misconception that this album utilizes silence but it's not *silence* so much as negative space, which here means involving background noise as counterpoint and tone-setter to the musicians beautiful intrusions on the stillness.



Also the last song is dynamic as fuck even on first listens, and the first track reveals it's details and textures with more listens. Aceghd is eternal but y'all knew that

Pon
Emeritus
June 29th 2016


5998 Comments


Sonic vacuums ov great truth

TVC15
June 29th 2016


11372 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I know it wasn't technically silence but I find nothing rewarding in hearing an extended 4'33 with a few seconds of doodling in between the empty spaces

hal1ax
June 29th 2016


15775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Doodling

Ryus
June 29th 2016


36936 Comments


a lot of drawing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy