At the Gates Slaughter of the Soul
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Casavir
August 5th 2022


5177 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"What I remember reading about this album back in the day, was that At the Gates were in dire straits while working for it, because their earlier albums had gone unnoticed at the time"



Again, this isn't surprising. They lost their strongest songwriter and musician who had the strongest vision among them all, effectively resorting to scraping the bottom of the barrel with a subpar glorified EP with Terminal Spirit Disease and then Slaughter of the Soul which was hardly any better in that respect.



Their lack of prior success is more a testament to how criminally unrecognized their work from Gardens of Grief to With Fear was and still is today.

TheAntichrist
August 5th 2022


3818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ok elitist

GhandhiLion
August 5th 2022


15844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Explain how what he said is elitist.

TheAntichrist
August 5th 2022


3818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

relax lion boi it's locker room talk. guys disagree, they beat each other up, then they become best friends and go out for some brewskis and bitches

Casavir
August 5th 2022


5177 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"ok elitist"



aw shucks you got me

Flugmorph
August 5th 2022


27501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Antichrist isn't really deserving of the dismissal anyway, I'll save that for...others."



:3

TheAntichrist
August 5th 2022


3818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

early dismissal back in catholic school was the best cus i'd get there by 7 and leave by 11:45 so i can play oddworld abe's odysee on the ps1. good times

Casavir
August 5th 2022


5177 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

That game was really cool, yeah

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2022


9705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Casavir



You have every right to dismiss this, but every band tries to do its best with its current lineup, so there's that.

TheAntichrist
August 5th 2022


3818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yo i'm glad i'm not the only person on planet earth who knew what that game was fvck yeah dude \m/

Casavir
August 5th 2022


5177 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"You have every right to dismiss this, but every band tries to do its best with its current lineup, so there's that."



This is true. However, I'm not convinced they came even close to attempting their best with this. Guys like Anders and Tomas were still responsible for writing stuff like Windows and The Architects without needing Svensson as support. Those songs dwarf anything on this album so they obviously could do better. They just gave up on trying which pretty much tracks since they disbanded not long after this.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2022


49294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

"Explain how what he said is elitist."

"glorified EP"

format snobbery < elitism

Casavir
August 6th 2022


5177 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

" format snobbery < elitism"



Yeah, and the best songs are just the live versions of tracks from the previous album lol. There's nothing snobby about it.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2022


49294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

then why does it make the slightest bit of difference whether it's an EP or an LP

Kusangii
August 6th 2022


3957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

At least they're not In Flames AMIRITE CASAVIR

Casavir
August 6th 2022


5177 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's just kind of ridiculous when the best song from the original tracks by far is the instrumental that was likely a leftover from With Fear's sessions and live recordings of songs from the prior two albums. I've similarly called Defenders of the Faith a glorified EP because of the sheer nosedive in quality in its second half.



"At least they're not In Flames AMIRITE CASAVIR"



Yeah, at least At the Gates have two albums I'd consider essential listening.

Source
August 6th 2022


19560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i feel like this discussion is incomplete without sitar even though i've never seen him in this thread

Flugmorph
August 6th 2022


27501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like music : )



Flugmorph
August 6th 2022


27501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The phrase “let's just enjoy music” is such a weak mindset. You are ok with what happened, not being critical, imperfection of a craft. When you stop getting angry after listening, you’ve lost twice. There’s always something to criticize, and always room for nitpicking, never settle.

Kusangii
August 6th 2022


3957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Poser mindset agreed



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy