In Every Breath Awakening
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
LG
February 23rd 2011


3050 Comments


Love it, but Distrust is better.

Irving
Emeritus
February 23rd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Cheno: S'okay...as long as you pos the review ;) + =p =p



@ LG: I am yet to try Distrust, but I will definitely get around to it eventually!

Jethro42
February 23rd 2011


18281 Comments


Jethro read. Jethro like. Jethro pos.



Irving
Emeritus
February 23rd 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Irving see. Irving happy. Irving grateful. Irving hug.

Metalstyles
February 26th 2011


8576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review. Very nice little EP this.



One question though: what do you dislike about the production? You're like the second or third person who's already said that and I just don't see it; album sounds fine to me.

Defeater
February 26th 2011


5780 Comments


The drums are too punchy.

Metalstyles
February 26th 2011


8576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmm, I can see how someone would think that. I personally appreciate that they are so high and loud in the mix.

Irving
Emeritus
February 27th 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The drums are too punchy.



That's what I would have said too. It's actually not too bad, to be honest - citing it in a review as one of the album's "flaws" is starting to seem a bit harsh, in hindsight.

Metalstyles
February 27th 2011


8576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

citing it in a review as one of the album's "flaws" is starting to seem a bit harsh, in hindsight.
I agree ;)

Irving
Emeritus
February 27th 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Clearly, I still have lots to learn about reviewing! Haha! =)

Metalstyles
February 27th 2011


8576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Actually, to be honest, that doesn't tie in with the quaility of your review at all. If you don't like the production, you don't like the production, it's not like I say it's good, you think it isn't, you get -1 reviewing points (lol). Next time just put in what you specifically don't like about it and what makes it sound underproduced to you.



If you want some real criticism you could use, I'd say that try to sound a little less fervent, if that makes sense.

Example:

In Every Breath was forced to spend a full three years scratching around the underbelly of their local rock music circuit, having been unceremoniously dumped there by the vicissitudes of fate.
You see, that last part is just way too hilarious. Being funny in a review is always a plus when you're actually funny, but when you go over the top, it hinders your credibility.

Irving
Emeritus
February 27th 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmmm, that's actually great criticism Metalstyles. I remember thinking that that line read a bit awkwardly myself. I'll go back and edit it right now.



And for the record, do feel free to tear me a new one at any point - particularly if you feel that there's more that can be improved =)

Sowing
Moderator
February 27th 2011


44143 Comments


I second Metalstyles although I still love your reviews as they are

Irving
Emeritus
February 27th 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks SS =) I know I can always count on you for support + constructive criticism.



Also, you need to review more. Js.



(yes I know you just published Armistice yesterday; but still)

Sowing
Moderator
February 27th 2011


44143 Comments


Somewhere between now and review 100 I plan on writing something that will get me negged into oblivion. I already have the concluding paragraph written.

Irving
Emeritus
February 27th 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If it fulfills your ambitions I'll be more than happy to mobilize a fleet of alt accounts, neg rifles at the ready.



I think it should be review #99. Then you can win back all the good-will by blowing us out of the water with your extreme-fanboy Yellowcard review.

Sowing
Moderator
February 27th 2011


44143 Comments


oh god, the intro paragraph for that review is over a half a page. just sayin'.

Irving
Emeritus
February 27th 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tl;dr;neg.

Sowing
Moderator
February 27th 2011


44143 Comments


haha its so unnecessarily personal. i find that i write for myself half the time these days, i just don't care enough to try to tailor it to a sputnik audience. even when i take my review really seriously i look at it as something that anyone (like anyone googling album reviews for that artist) would stumble across and enjoy reading, not just the moaropeths of this particular site.



Irving
Emeritus
February 27th 2011


7496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i find that i write for myself half the time these days, i just don't care enough to try to tailor it to a sputnik audience.



I actually think that's a good thing. Too many people on this site try to pander to their Sputnik audience - I myself am particularly guilty of it. Too many nostalgic Disney reviews LOL.



even when i take my review really seriously i look at it as something that anyone (like anyone googling album reviews for that artist) would stumble across and enjoy reading



Have you ever thought of trying to go further with this music reviewing business? I have a feeling you could do a decent job (at least) at the fully-professional level. Not make a career out of it, of course, just writing more actively for a site/paper that is considered "professional" by the masses.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy