Sonic Youth Washing Machine
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2022


60177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

probs around the middle of the discog, but that's a good place to be

ArsMoriendi
May 9th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Confusion or this?

ArsMoriendi
May 9th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Upon first listen: No Queen Blues would be way better if Thurston’s vocals didn’t have that effect on them

tectactoe
May 9th 2022


7265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

CONFUSION IS SEX is easily top-half SY, possibly like Top 5 or 6. Tough call between that and this, very different albums but both excellent.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2022


60177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

"Confusion or this?"

both tbh, this is probably slightly higher but there's not too much in it. this has a handful of absolute top-shelf classics, but the floor is pretty low

ArsMoriendi
May 9th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I’m only on track 8 right now but my impression is that Kim Gordon is constantly absolutely killing it but Thurston is kinda failing to deliver so far



Lee’s first song is great too

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2022


60177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Yeah, this is absolutely a Kim album, although Thurston makes up for it on the closer (and Lee has a solid two-for-two). Bookends are both godly mmm

parksungjoon
May 9th 2022


47230 Comments


My soul has been longing for music like this. Haters gonna hate. Jesus IS king, and if
people are in need of anything they should seek him. But I'm sure people will read this
and believe whatever their heart has pre- decided. What they should instead do is ask
God FOR THEMSELVES because He most definitely can and will speak for himself, but I don't
think people even actually care to find Truth. Find God or die tryin. It's weak to assume
that the God of the universe can't be found. Hate on hata. But know that God has never been
a liar and Psalm 37:5 is the truth. I'm tired of playing games. Step up weakling and gain
strength. FORGET WHAT YOU THINK YOU KNOW. LET GOD PROVE HIMSELF. Man will most definitely fail you, but our time is limited and Yeshua is the truth.


ArsMoriendi
May 9th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Guess what I’m gonna rate this in 16 minutes once The Diamond Sea ends

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2022


60177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Probably a 3.5, depending on how much you fw that dronnnnnne at the end

ArsMoriendi
May 9th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Upon first listen:

Standouts: Saucer-Like, Washing Machine, Panty Lies, The Diamond Sea

Also great: Becuz, No Queen Blues

Good: Unwind, Little Trouble Girl, Skip Tracer

Meh: Junkie's Promise, Becuz Coda

tectactoe
May 10th 2022


7265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bump little trouble girl

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2022


60177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

bump Skip Tracer and Becuz, drop No Queen

but yh, Junkie's Promise in the #2 track was a brainless sequencing decision if ever there was one

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2022


18844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

That 3 song run of title track, Unwind, and Little Trouble Girl is sublime

ArsMoriendi
May 10th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Junkie’s Promise sounds so much like a Nirvana song and it’s about heroin… is it about Kurt Cobain or what?

ArsMoriendi
May 11th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I love Junkie’s Promise now?



Also I might 4.5 this soon

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2022


18844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

i'm also thinking about it Ars

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2022


60177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

maybe I should 3.9 this hm

tectactoe
May 11th 2022


7265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you can only 4.5 this is you have either confusion is sex, bad moon rising, or sister 4.5'd also.

ArsMoriendi
May 11th 2022


40914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have Sister 4.5’d already so that’s fine



Bad Moon is a 4



Confusion is a 3.5 and it’s going to stay that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy