Agalloch Marrow of the Spirit
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
McCopper
December 25th 2010


1367 Comments


Album sort of sucks.
I didn't get past the 3rd track.
I couldn't even believe it's agalloch.
They are my 2nd favourite band, how could they do this to me?

FilthyBorgir
December 25th 2010


1334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah what Hawks said.

Kubrick
December 25th 2010


793 Comments


They're your second favorite band but you couldn't even finish the CD or make an attempt to let it grow on you? If you like them enough as a band to say they are your second favorite it would probably be an album that could grow on you... it's really not that far removed than their other stuff. The melancholy is just ramped up tenfold.

Hawks
December 25th 2010


74666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's really not bad at all. People are just pissed that it doesn't sound like their other albums.

Digging: ...and Oceans - Cosmic World Mother

psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for saying this is better than my first two guys. I think so as well. I tried not to make this a track for track review, i'll try and fix up my grammar but honestly i'm not a great writer (yet) so i have a hard time picking out the problems beside what spell check fixes automatically. Hopefully my next one will be even better (have no idea what it's going to be though. I want to review some opeth seeing as they're one of my favorite metal bands but i feel opeth is reviewed and discussed a bit much on this site).

psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with you Hawks. This album has just as much if not more to offer than Ashes or The Mantle. It's just a little harder to get into.

Hawks
December 25th 2010


74666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean I don't know about all THAT, but still it's a great album. It's my least favorite out of their full-lengths and it still warrants a 4.5, at least from me. I think that's saying something.

psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do like Ashes better but it's defiantly a more instantly accessible album and as much as I like the Mantle it's probably my least favorite because of the heavy use of acoustic guitars. Pale Folklore is still my favorite though. As Embers Dress the Sky is one of my favorites ever by any band.

Hawks
December 25th 2010


74666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Another person who thinks Pale Folklore is the best! I love you already. But yeah:



Pale Folklore

Ashes Against the Grain

The Mantle

Marrow of the Spirit

psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pale Folklore

Ashes Against The Grain

Marrow of the Spirit

The Mantle

psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Even though it's so close. That's quite a different opinion on how you feel about this band.

Hawks
December 25th 2010


74666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All of their albums are great and this band is my 3rd or 4th favorite band. I love all their stuff.

Kubrick
December 25th 2010


793 Comments


I've listened to it a bunch and I can safely say that I think it's their weakest overall release. That being said, it's still a pretty awesome album in its own right. I find it hard to believe that so many people that love Agalloch's other albums really dislike this. Yeah, I agree that it's not on the same level as their previous achievements but the trademark atmosphere and sound is still there. If you liked it on the other albums, why not here?

psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who are your favorites Hawks? I believe we enjoy alot of the same stuff. You probably know a few more of the underground bands than i do as well.

Hawks
December 25th 2010


74666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well this does sound different than all their other albums. The atmosphere is way thinner than on the other ones and there's way less clean vocals than they've had in the past. And my favorites in order are:



Cradle of Filth

Enslaved

Agalloch

Death

DarkNoctus
December 25th 2010


11525 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album sort of sucks.

I didn't get past the 3rd track.

I couldn't even believe it's agalloch.

They are my 2nd favourite band, how could they do this to me?


oh come now, that's a bit silly. just give it a chance.



oh and these guys are my favourite band. :]

Digging: VOLA - Witness

psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree Kubrik. I think people are probably not giving this enough of a chance and judge it within the first listen.

McCopper
December 25th 2010


1367 Comments


Well of course I will.I am just talking about the first impression.
I will give it a few focused full listens in the near future.
But I'm just saying.
I first listened to a desolation song and limbs and I would listen to these songs all day.Over the next week I had both of the respective albums.


psite45
December 25th 2010


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved cradle up until up around Nymphetamine and then lost interest. I loved Damnation and a Day though. Still in my opinion one of the best concept albums ever (still need to listen to the new one though although i don't expect much). Enslaved are awesome and I'm going to pick up some Death tomorrow during the boxing day shopping extravaganza. I've never owned one of their albums

Hawks
December 25th 2010


74666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cradle's first 5 albums are all classics for me. The newer ones aren't as awesome, with the exception of Thornography IMO, but are still really good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy