Plain White T's Wonders of the Younger
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JWT155
December 8th 2010


14957 Comments


Wut?

dirkschamgganbad
December 8th 2010


131 Comments


irving is the nicest person in the world

Knott-
Emeritus
December 8th 2010


10260 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Fair enough. I appreciate the time you took to explain it properly. Don't feel bad about the neg, lol.



You can rest assured I've never posted a negative review without a proper degree of consideration. Misplaced positive hype can make people buy albums they don't like, too bad; misplaced negative hype can undermine good music and damage artists' chances of reaching their audience. Not that I'm claiming my influence is that broad, but it intrapolates from 'proper' journalists quite reliably.



I agree it strawmans them but the point was to do just that - you see, the narrative, the obvious thought process behind this album given their previous record was the single most predictable and inoffensive and lazy I've ever heard (NO exaggeration) was so akin to a fairytale, to these grand ideas coming along and saving the day, that it was impossible not to mention that. That's where the idea came from.



I commend their ambition in creating something more... daring(?) than their last album, but the point is that it isn't daring - it's designed to have a pre-meditated effect, and I honestly felt like seriously addressing the 'concept' element of the record and analysing it would vindicate the lazy way in which it was approached, because talking about it in any way is still hype, whether it's negative or positive. Hopefully that clears up to some extent why this might come across as dismissive.





Irving
Emeritus
December 8th 2010


7496 Comments


Hopefully that clears up to some extent why this might come across as dismissive.

Indeed you have cleared it up - and very thoroughly at that. This idea about "pre-meditated" daring is incredibly interesting, and it alone probably justifies the whole of the review and its writing style. I guess it just wasn't very clear that you were trying to make it so, and I ended up reading the whole thing as a rant against cheesy + pretentious bands, or something of the sort.

Again, I have no qualms about your journalistic (revieweristic? LOL) integrity. Like I said, you've churned out incredible review after incredible review after incredible review, and I find myself heartily nodding to them all. There's also tons to be said about how you're incredibly professional each and every time. Good job sir.

Anyway, I'm removing the neg - I feel that you've successfully convinced me of the merits of this review's style. And although good approval ratings on this site are as necessary as a hole in the head, I see no reason to not fix the damage that I have wrought on yours =)

Knott-
Emeritus
December 8th 2010


10260 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

!



Thanks, I appreciate it. Now just gotta hunt down the other two... haha. Nah, this is easily the most-voted thing I've ever written, it's crazy. And thanks very much for the multitude of compliments :$! Basically I can see how this could be read as just a rant against cheesy music so I totally understand what you mean.

Awesomesauce
December 8th 2010


1092 Comments


I found a 4.5/5 review for this on another site yesterday. Either the reviewer is a 12 year old insecure girl or has no soul. Or both.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 8th 2010


10260 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

http://www.contactmusic.com/new/home.nsf/albumreview/plain-white-ts-wonders-of-the-younger



I particularly enjoy the heavy rock rifts.

seifer
December 8th 2010


1006 Comments


haha funny review

Inveigh
December 8th 2010


26878 Comments


I would like to state that I was banging the drummer of this band's girl while they were on tour back in 2006/2007

and that this band sucks.

Observer
Emeritus
December 8th 2010


9403 Comments


pretty cool inveigh

Inveigh
December 8th 2010


26878 Comments


not really i'm pretty sure she gave me crabs

nah jk it is pretty cool thanks Observer :-)

omnipanzer
December 8th 2010


21827 Comments


I chuckled lots
POS.
My qualifiers aren't nearly as well thought out as Irving's.
(thats tongue in cheek)

Sowing
Moderator
December 8th 2010


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

just read the exchange between knott and irving and that might seriously be the nicest sounding disagreement i have heard in my entire life

Sowing
Moderator
December 8th 2010


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sup Lakes, come back to Sputnik

Sowing
Moderator
December 8th 2010


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

cool. i'll review in the aeroplane or a sufjan album to commemorate your return

Sowing
Moderator
December 8th 2010


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ok. i will when you make your official triumphant return

omnipanzer
December 8th 2010


21827 Comments


"just read the exchange between knott and irving and that might seriously be the nicest sounding
disagreement i have heard in my entire life"

I agree sowing... I wonder if they are both British. When ever I read such an amicable disagreement I
often find the voices in my head have a British accent.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 8th 2010


10260 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Lol. I am.



I'm just a nice guy though really : (

Winsomniac
December 8th 2010


8833 Comments


Lol. Great read; probably not going to check this out.

Irving
Emeritus
December 8th 2010


7496 Comments


I'm actually Malaysian (country's part of the Commonwealth, though). However, I definitely don't have a British accent. In fact, I am told that how I speak these days sounds like a bastardization of a North American inflection which tried to make it with a South East Asian slang.

I also plan to send Knott some flowers this weekend. Speaking of which, he has apparently managed to hunt down (and destroy?) all of the other neggers - because it currently reads 59/59.

Boy am I glad I changed my vote.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy