Swans Children of God
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FrozenFirebug
February 27th 2024


852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

korn should cover children of god and swans should cover children of the korn



fuck authority hit yo ass in the head with my .40 *70 minutes of guitar strumming* - michael gira

Sharenge
February 27th 2024


5190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wanna throw some "Sex, God, Sex" and "Real Love" love out there since I saw them show up in tec's 'low-tier' on the previous page

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 27th 2024


60512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ngl that ranking did not need to survive the pagebreak

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2024


10210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Anyone have suggestions for good Swans discog order / priorities? Done Filth, and the Seer, this next?

cylinder
April 12th 2024


2576 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'd recommend soaking up as much of the pre-hiatus stuff as far as you're interested before starting the post-hiatus stuff - they're basically two different bands.



if you've heard Filth, you can skip Cop cuz it's basically the same album (unless you really dug Filth of course, then in that case you'll probably dig Cop too).



skip Greed and Holy Money, both are boring af. This is when they started getting good. The Burning World is a bit of an anomaly, different producer or something. check if you're interested, not necessary tho. then def check White Light, Love of Life (which is basically an addendum to White Light, still great tho), The Great Annihilator and Soundtracks. that's def their best stretch of albums

gabba
April 12th 2024


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

“Sex, God, Sex” is top 5 Swans agreed

Asleep, if your strategy is to sample their prime albums from different eras, this could be a good choice for some goth vibes after the brutality of Filth and post-rock infused trips of The Seer.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2024


10210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank thank



Might sweep through the 4+ rated pre-hiatus albums in chronological order (so this first) and see where we land.



On Like a Drug rn and tripping

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2024


10210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Beautiful Child also v good

cylinder
April 12th 2024


2576 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Beautiful Child might be my fave Swans track, so fucking harrowing

Sharenge
April 13th 2024


5190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bad takes

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2024


10210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Got that high gothic cowboy vibe on rn (ow my head)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy