The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
August 8th 2010


30758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Strawberry Fields is so uninspired and bland. Penny Lane is my third favorite.

Observer
Emeritus
August 8th 2010


8558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey jude, eleanor rigby, or a day in the life, not sure which id choose



also yesterday

Digging: ISIS - Panopticon

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2010


19503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

when the saxophones mirror lennon's melody in 'good morning good morning' (but add harmonies and shit, idk hard to describe) the song turns so good. i love how it sounds like they took the saxophones and stomped on them repeatedly and then played them (i.e. it's distorted and shit but that's less fun to say)



Gyromania
August 8th 2010


30758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For No One is my favorite song by them, followed by Tomorrow Never Knows, Happiness.., LSD, You Never Give Me Your Money and A Day in the Life.

klap
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2010


12328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

day in the life is probs my favorite beatles song, followed by in my life and then i am the walrus.



listened to the original master tracks of day in the life in a recording class a couple of years ago, so fucking amazing to listen to how they tracked it separately and such.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2010


19503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i love how the song dramatically changes during the "let me take you down, cause im going tooo"; the song actually conveys this sort of spiraling downwards during that part. it's like the verses or whatever are on one plane, and then the line i just mentioned sort of floats you down to the other plane, which is the chorus



haha that makes no sense



i love hey jude but also find it to be slightly overrated and dont listen to it much. eleanor rigby is fantastic but i actually like 'she's leaving home' more (random comparison i guess but you know). a day in the life is utterly phenomenal; the strings rising and the last chord are unreal. and yesterday is obviously fantastic. (haha adding more): for no one i literally just started loving; it's one of many "perfect" mccartney songs but the weird thing about it is i listen to it and i feel like i've missed it after i'm done playing it--and not just because it's short either. somehow it's hard to grasp and it slips through my fingers every time. but it's seriously great stuff, too. tomorrow never knows is my most-played beatles song, nuff said. i know ill get shit for this but i actually prefer the Across the Universe sountrack version of "happiness is a warm gun"--feels fuller to me. 8). lucy in the sky with diamonds is good but not one of my favorites. the abbey road medley is great but tracks like, say, 'mean mr mustard' or 'polythene pam' would certainly not be among their best separate. however, 'the end' would.





yaaaaaaaa trick yaaaaaaaa

PregnantTeen
August 8th 2010


168 Comments


point?


js, what's with the hatchet-tude?

aresx
August 8th 2010


339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

IMO

Rubber Soul flows much better than this album

Magical Mystery Tour is their best psychedelic album

Abbey Road is their best Post Psychedelic album

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2010


19503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also since we're on this path, i think the best beatles songs are:



in my life, tomorrow never knows, because, the end, a day in the life, norwegian wood, girl, i'm only sleeping, i'm happy just to dance with you, if i fell, okay that seems like enough





edit: shit there are just way too many

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2010


19503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

OH and 'yes it is'

Observer
Emeritus
August 8th 2010


8558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rubber soul's got a great flow, but yeah I still pick this. imo, while i like revolver a lot, to me it doesn't really flow that well, like that's what sepperates it from this is in the sequencing of the tracks. Idk, something I can't place

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2010


19503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im seirously not one of those fun-haters but i just cant force myself to like 'yellow submarine'



and yeah rubber soul's got the flow bro. it's also just got some of their best straight-up songwriting and also FUCKING HARMONIES

Observer
Emeritus
August 8th 2010


8558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah yellow submarine doesn't do anything for me at all

NeutralThunder12
August 8th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

HEY robert. "In My Life" is easily the best beatles song, I have to agree, but Eleanor Rigby, In My Life and Norwegian

Wood are also close.

Crowe
August 8th 2010


434 Comments


omg thank you

Romulus
August 8th 2010


8887 Comments


I did not see this coming at all, awesome review though.

Just got a fair chunk of The Beatles' discography; I've been listening to non-Abbey Road stuff for the first time and I'm thoroughly enjoying it

Schizophrenik
August 8th 2010


848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Most of this is soooooo boring. if it wasn't for "With a Little Help from My Friends," "When I'm 64" and "A Day in the Life" it would be a 2-2.5

robin
Emeritus
August 8th 2010


4595 Comments


i like pretty much every beatles song i have played to me immensly but i never sit down to listen to them.

also i need to stop missing your reviews jared because i love the way you're writing.

Observer
Emeritus
August 8th 2010


8558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, but robin it's like a band made for you though.

robin
Emeritus
August 8th 2010


4595 Comments


i know and i have pretty much everything by them i could need, i just never really want to listen to them. when i do through other people though it's like iknow everything about them.

although i have listened to george harrison's solo album a loot.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy