Elliott Smith Figure 8
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


41391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

POINTED OUT OF THE WINDOW



AT A SKY TURNED BLACK



KID YOU'RE ON THE RIGHT TRACK

Pheromone
March 14th 2019


6779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Row what's your Elliott ranking bruh

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


41391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you know it lad



this one

Elliott Smith

Roman Candle

From a Basement

Either/Or

XO



worth noting Basement could easily have been me fave if they hadn't butchered the tracklist after he died

ButtBoy
March 14th 2019


2182 Comments


Either Or and XO at the bottom? dayum

Pheromone
March 14th 2019


6779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Either / Or > Roman Candle > Basement > XO > s/t > New Moon > Figure 8

amiright

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


41391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oof that's a spicy one



Elliott doesn't have any remotely bad albums, but there are a couple bad songs, mostly on XO imo. that album is not consistent even as it has some of his absolute best

ButtBoy
March 14th 2019


2182 Comments


that's fair. which songs would you say are bad?

Pheromone
March 14th 2019


6779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Elliott is the greatest of all time though. This is my least favourite of his, and it's still one of the all time greats!

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


41391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Amity is hella bad. Also think the electric version of Don't Go Down sounds like a shit grunge band ripoff (acoustic version is beautiful that said). then stuff like Tomorrow Tomorrow and A Question Mark is fine but not really up to the very high standard I hold Elliott to - like they're on the same album as Waltz 2, Waltz 1, Pitseleh and Everybody Cares, it's a high bar to clear

Pheromone
March 14th 2019


6779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You don’t like amity?

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


41391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wait are there people who do? respect to that honestly

ButtBoy
March 14th 2019


2182 Comments


I can't remember Amity, will have to revisit

ButtBoy
March 14th 2019


2182 Comments


yeahhh the main "hook" if you will, kinda sucks. but other than that not too bad. 3/5

Pheromone
March 14th 2019


6779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amityamityamityamity I love all Elliott fight me row

deathschool
March 14th 2019


23471 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

F8

Either/Or

Selfie

Roman Candle

Basement

New Moon

XO



Elliott has no bad albums, but XO has a couple of bad songs. [2]

deathschool
March 14th 2019


23471 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Everyone knows about Amity, but I’ve never been a fan of Bled White. Parts of it feel forced.

Pheromone
March 14th 2019


6779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

When the guitar breaks through at the end of that song, classic elliott

deathschool
March 14th 2019


23471 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

On Amity or Bled White?

deathschool
March 14th 2019


23471 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Bled White is a well written song, but his surf rock backing vox on it just feel wrong to me. I know that Elliott has a lot of surf rock influences (mainly through The Beach Boys), but I think its too overt in that song.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 15th 2019


14996 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey row can you expand on yr basement track list thing plz

is there an ideal track list i should kno about??



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy