Envy On The Coast Lowcountry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AmericnZero02
June 27th 2010


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah great reivew. I'm hoping this will grow on me a bit more. The slow tracks being a bit lackluster on this record bums me out a bit since "Lapse" and "Starving Your Friends" off of Lucy Gray were so good.

greg84
Emeritus
June 27th 2010


7654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Thanks. And yeah. 3/5 is way too low of a rating for this album. I prefer the mellow tracks out of this album actually. Clergy out of deluxe edition is particularly sweet.

DyingAtheist
July 22nd 2010


193 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love this album, maybe a bit too much. Puritan Dirt Song, Numb, Made Of Stone, Like I Do, Clean Of You are all pure quality. As is the start to Souther Comfort.



greg84
Emeritus
July 22nd 2010


7654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Yeah. Finally, someone who 5ed it. I totally support you. Southern Comfort is probably my favorite. Especially the bridge in this song is ridiculously good.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


22500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm in the minority thinking that Envy on the Coast's debut LP 'Lucy Gray' is a better album than 'Lowcountry', but that doesn't mean this follow-up is a disappointment. Natural growth sees the dynamic NY quartet incorporate a more rock oriented sound, while the slicker production is also wise. Interestingly, a clear southern rock style emerges; sometimes adding valuable, original & moody ingredients, while other times sacrificing memorable hooks. As a result, 'Lowcountry' unfortunately lacks stand-out moments, yet it is still a relatively consistent LP. Recommended Tracks: Head First in the River, Made of Stone, Death March on Two Ready? & The Great American T-Shirt Racket.

greg84
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


7654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Lucy Gray wasn't really my cup of tea. Their old style doesn't really appeal to me apart from several cuts. Though I'll admit the record had some killer tracks, it was not very stellar.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


22500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Greg, they are very different albums with each of them appealing to certain tastes... So it definitely becomes an individual thing.



This is a rather consistent LP, hence me still rating it as great... But I had real issues deciding what the 2nd best song was... behind 'Head First in the River'.

greg84
Emeritus
August 9th 2010


7654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Haha. I have no idea what the best song on the album is to this day. Head First In The River may be a strong contender, but I guess I prefer The Devil's Tongue and Southern Comfort.

omgbecky
August 27th 2010


499 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Listening to this now. Doesn't live up to Lucy Gray.

AmericnZero02
August 27th 2010


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Finally some other people who don't like this as much as Lucy Gray. I can't help but miss their catchy hooks and be bothered by downright boring tracks like "Puritan Dirt Song."

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
August 27th 2010


22500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, but you know we're almost one & the same Zero. Except for that convincing I have to do next week.

omgbecky
December 19th 2010


499 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was wrong when I said this wasn't as good as Lucy Gray, it's BETTER!

greg84
Emeritus
December 19th 2010


7654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Yea. It's much better than Lucy Gray.

iamnot
December 20th 2010


73 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

one of the best albums ever, in my opinion. also one of the best BANDS ever. its sad that they broke up.

Jethro42
December 20th 2010


18281 Comments


Very good review Greg. Similarities with Incubus are obvious but they have their own style nonetheless, and music is pretty good.

greg84
Emeritus
December 20th 2010


7654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Unfortunately they've disbanded some time this year. It's a cosmic shame since they had their own distinct style. They were killer live too. I'm glad you like them.

ohfoxxxycole
December 29th 2010


4339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rip envy on the coast

PuddlesPuddles
January 26th 2011


4798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

At least they want out with a bang

ohfoxxxycole
February 24th 2011


4339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bang

iamnot
March 14th 2011


73 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pretty good review.

i just dont agree with Like I Do not being memorable.

because its one of the best tracks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy