Death Cab for Cutie The Photo Album
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
July 4th 2016


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bumped this to a 4.5, it's just incredible.

Digging: Modest Mouse - The Moon & Antarctica

torts
July 4th 2016


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

indeedly

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 10th 2016


24349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

death cab were awesome live. they played Why You'd Want to Live Here off of this and it was so good. idk why I never checked this but i am now

theBoneyKing
July 10th 2016


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great song that, enjoy this album man, it's a real gem. My favorites are We Laugh Indoors and Styrofoam Plates but I love pretty much everything about this.

I LOVED YOU GUINEVERE I LOVED YOU GUINEVERE I LOVED YOU

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 10th 2016


24349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so pumped aha. and hopefully I will! I love both Trans and We Have the Facts so I assume I'll love this too

Ocean of Noise
July 10th 2016


10523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This combines the best aspects of those two albums.

Digging: Agalloch - The White

theBoneyKing
July 10th 2016


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ben is so uncharacteristically bitter on this album, I love it.

Ocean of Noise
July 10th 2016


10523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. This and Songs About Airplanes both have a lot of bitterness.

theBoneyKing
July 10th 2016


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I also love the imagery in this album's lyrics - at his best, Ben is one of those lyricists who can use a simple, commonplace detail to express a very complicated feeling.

The band are also extremely on point on this album - each song has a unique and extremely evocative feeling to it.

Ocean of Noise
July 10th 2016


10523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed on both points. This is probably instrumentally their strongest album, and lyrically it's up there too.



The only thing that makes me prefer We Have the Facts is its concept, and how effectively it's conveyed as a whole. This album is a bit less unified.

theBoneyKing
July 10th 2016


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"The only thing that makes me prefer We Have the Facts is its concept, and how effectively it's conveyed as a whole. This album is a bit less unified."

I agree with this statement exactly except about Transatlanticism rather than We Have the Facts. Facts just has never fully clicked with me for some reason.

Ocean of Noise
July 10th 2016


10523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The problem with Transatlanticism for me is that it lacks the raw emotion of the previous albums. It feels more calculated to me, and as a result it's less moving. It is a very consistent and focused album, though.

theBoneyKing
July 10th 2016


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree that it is more calculated but I think that actually works to its advantage, in fact I struggle to think of an album with a better flow end to end than that one, the way I hear it everything is pretty much perfectly placed.

On the other hand, in this album every song is well executed on its own, but as a whole it plays more like a series of vignettes than a full story. In a way it sounds like its title - a collection of images thrown together relatively haphazardly.

We Have the Facts to my ears is kind of raw to a fault, it's a great album but it doesn't really gel.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 11th 2016


24349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this is fantastic so far. love the rawness on here. there's really no song that I dislike. def a 4 and maybe my favorite Death Cab but idk if it beats out We Have the Facts

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2016


24349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is their best album.

torts
July 14th 2016


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Incorrect but close

BeeRyan
July 14th 2016


1313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Debate Exposes Doubt gives me a feeling like nothing else. Very uneasy, bitter, forlorn, and disappointed. One of their best of all time. Honestly We Laugh indoors is my least favorite here.

jtswope
July 14th 2016


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is 2nd best.

torts
July 14th 2016


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

styrofoam plates period

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2016


24349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but but I LOVED YOU GUINEVERE I LOVED YOU GUINEVERE

and I guess this is tied with Trans but I think im gonna bump this to a 4.5



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy